Billy Bragg Tooth & Nail

Tooth & Nail
Get email alerts for Billy Bragg
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
sku:  KWAS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 19, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Essential Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.86
5 stars out of 5 -- "New tuff for him every bit, from pain to process, and consequently unprecedented in his previous work is the sweet melancholy measure of his voice."


  • 1.January Song
  • 2.No One Knows Nothing Any More
  • 3.Handyman Blues
  • 4.I Ain't Got No Home
  • 5.Swallow My Pride
  • 6.Do Unto Others
  • 7.Over You
  • 8.Goodbye, Goodbye
  • 9.There Will Be A Reckoning
  • 10.Chasing Rainbows
  • 11.Your Name On My Tongue
  • 12.Tomorrow's Going To Be A Better Day

Product Description:

Personnel: Billy Bragg (vocals, acoustic guitar); Greg Leisz (acoustic guitar, lap steel guitar, dobro, mandola, mandolin); Patrick Warren (autoharp, piano, pump organ, keyboards); David Piltch (upright bass, electric bass); Jay Bellerose (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Ryan Freeland.
Recording information: The Garfield House, South Pasadena, CA.
Photographer: Andy Whale.
"January Song," the bluesy leadoff track from veteran English folkie Billy Bragg's first solo outing since 2008's Mr. Love and Justice, begins with the lyric "I'm so tightly wound in tension" and ends with "This is how the world ends," signaling a shift from the stalwart political activism of previous outings to a more internalized dialogue that suggests a subtle re-positioning of the magnifying glass. Bragg has always tempered his political leanings with matters of the heart, and the weepy "Chasing Rainbows" and sad and soulful "Your Name on My Tongue" rank as two of his more intimate offerings, suggesting a recent emotional upheaval that needed a basement in Pasadena, California to find catharsis. Bragg and producer Joe Henry, owner of the aforementioned basement where Tooth & Nail was recorded, make for a solid team, allowing their shared love of rural Americana to run wild and each song enough elbow room to get comfy by sticking to a pantry of few seasonings, which makes the occasional Greg Leisz-supplied Dobro, mandolin, and pedal steel, and the Patrick Warren-provided autoharp and pump organ, feel less like window dressing and more like a crucial component. That's not to say that Tooth & Nail arrives sans boxing gloves, as evidenced by the inclusion of signature Bragg rallying anthems like "Tomorrow's Going to Be a Better Day" and the album's most engaging cut, the rough and tumble "No One Knows Nothing Anymore," but it says something when even the requisite Woody Guthrie number, an appropriately wistful reading of "I Ain't Got No Home," while still steeped in dustbowl civics, eschews straight up politics for weary soul searching. ~ James Christopher Monger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 711297498028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)