Madeleine Peyroux Standing on the Rooftop

Standing on the Rooftop
Get email alerts for Madeleine Peyroux
26 ratings
Sale: $14.38
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $13.07 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  362FY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 14, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Emarcy / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.83
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A]t the album's heart are Peyroux's frank, poetic lyrics, beautifully animated by her smoky, sensual voice....It's an album rich in atmosphere..."
Down Beat - p.52
3 stars out of 5 -- "Peyroux's vocals are now weathered and have much more depth."
JazzTimes - p.66
"Whether singing of love's vagaries or intense passion, waxing philosophical or charting a rocky voyage into self-discovery on the title track, Peyroux's richly detailed life sketches are acutely profound."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.96
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he metronomic cello scrapes of the title track represent Peyroux's most compelling stylistic departure yet."
Paste (magazine) - "Peyroux has assembled an agile backing band for STANDING ON THE ROOFTOP, including Marc Ribot on guitar and Me'shell Ndegeocello on bass. They take her further out of her default jazz sound and into rootsy Americana..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 -- "A downbeat trek into rootsy Americana....[The album] yields its treasures with repeated listening."


  • 1.Martha My Dear
  • 2.The Kind You Can't Afford
  • 3.The Things I've Seen Today
  • 4.Fickle Dove
  • 5.Lay Your Sleeping Head, My Love
  • 6.Standing on the Rooftop
  • 7.I Threw It All Away
  • 8.Love in Vain
  • 9.Don't Pick a Fight with a Poet
  • 10.Meet Me in Rio
  • 11.Ophelia
  • 12.The Way of All Things

Product Description:

Personnel: Madeleine Peyroux (vocals); Christopher Bruce, Marc Ribot (guitar); Jenny Scheinman (violin); Allen Toussaint (piano); John Kirby , Glenn Patscha, Patrick Warren, Mauro Refosco (keyboards); Charley Drayton (drums).
Recording information: Downtown Studios, New York, NY (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Motherbrain Studio, Brooklyn, NY (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Phantom Vox, Los Angeles, CA (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Sear Sound, New York, NY (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Vel Studios, Brooklyn, NY (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Wild Arctic, New York, NY (02/14/2011-02/17/2011); Downtown Studios, New York, NY (02/26/2011); Motherbrain Studio, Brooklyn, NY (02/26/2011); Phantom Vox, Los Angeles, CA (02/26/2011); Sear Sound, New York, NY (02/26/2011); Vel Studios, Brooklyn, NY (02/26/2011); Wild Arctic, New York, NY (02/26/2011).
Photographer: Keith Sirchio.
In 2009, Madeleine Peyroux issued Bare Bones, her first recording of all-original material with producer Larry Klein and a small group of jazz musicians and co-composers. Standing on the Rooftop is her debut recording for Decca with producer Craig Street. The group of players here is a diverse lot: drummer Charlie Drayton, guitarists Christopher Bruce and Marc Ribot, bassist Me'Shell Ndegeocello; John Kirby, Glenn Patscha, and Patrick Warren alternate on keyboards, percussionist Mauro Refosco, violinist Jenny Scheinman, and Allen Toussaint guests on piano. The program is richly and elegantly painted with modern production touches even as its songs are rooted in the historical past of classic Americana: pop songs, blues, jazz, and sitting room tunes. It includes eight originals and four covers, among them a poem by W.H. Auden set to music by Ribot entitled "Lay Your Sleeping Head, My Love." The music is summery and laid-back. The languid parlor-room reading of "Martha My Dear" by Lennon & McCartney has a deliberate old-timey feel and twins well with "Fickle Dove" (one of two Peyroux tunes written with Scheinman). Robert Johnson's "Love in Vain," with its strange pump organ backdrop and studio echo, indulges the kinds of production tricks Tom Waits might employ in disguising a blues. That said, this song too has a twin of sorts in the sonically similar title track; a clattering rag blues with ambient electronics held in check by Peyroux's elegantly earthy vocal. Ribot's acoustic guitar and Toussaint's upright on the Auden poem give the singer a perfectly loose frame to create a song inside. The thin, lean, funky blues on "The Kind You Can't Afford" (co-written with former Rolling Stone Bill Wyman) and Bob Dylan's "I Threw It All Away" are both slow shuffles and high points. In the latter, Peyroux's voice shifts the lyric's meaning to where the implied bitterness gives way to bewilderment. The album's final three cuts, "Meet Me in Rio," "Ophelia," and "The Way of All Things" make fine use of Peyroux's jazz chops; and because of Street's production, make an exact time-space continuum wonderfully imprecise. As an album, Standing on the Rooftop may not be as striking as its predecessor, but perhaps it wasn't meant to be. It is a seemingly effort that pushes the familiar toward an uncertain future where pop genres cease to need to exist at all. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,588
  • UPC: 602527710709
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)