Madeleine Peyroux Dreamland

Get email alerts for Madeleine Peyroux
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  362FK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.Walkin' After Midnight
  • 2.Hey Sweet Man
  • 3.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  • 4.(Getting Some) Fun Out of Life
  • 5.La Vie en Rose
  • 6.Always a Use
  • 7.A Prayer
  • 8.Muddy Water
  • 9.Was I?
  • 10.Dreamland
  • 11.Reckless Blues
  • 12.Lovesick Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Madeleine Peyroux (vocals, guitar); Marc Ribot (acoustic & electric guitars, dobro, banjo); Vernon Reid, Larry Saltzman (electric guitar); Regina Carter (violin); Charlie Giordano (accordion, Hammond B-3 organ, harmonium, harpsichord, Mellotron); James Carter (tenor saxophone, bass clarinet); Marcus Printup (trumpet); Cyrus Chestnut (piano); Steve Kirby (bass); Greg Cohen (bass, bass marimba); Leon Parker (drums, cymbal); Kenny Wollison (drums, cymbals, bass drum, percussion).
Recorded at RPM Studios and Unique Studios, New York, New York.
All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
Personnel: Madeleine Peyroux (vocals, guitar); M.P. (vocals, guitar); Marc Ribot (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro, banjo); Vernon Reid (guitar, electric guitar); Larry Saltzman (electric guitar); Regina Carter (violin); Charlie Giordano (accordion, harpsichord, harmonium, organ, Mellotron, keyboards); James Carter (bass clarinet, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Marcus Printup (trumpet); Cyrus Chestnut (piano); Greg Cohen (marimba); Kenny Wollesen (drums, bass drum, cymbals, percussion); Leon Parker (drums, cymbals).
Audio Mixer: Michael O'Reilly.
Recording information: East Side Sound Recording Studio, New York, NY; Kampo studios, New York, NY; RPM Sound Studios, New York, NY; RPM Studios, New York, NY; Unique Recording Studio, New York, NY.
Photographer: Daniel Miller.
Arranger: Greg Cohen .
Singer-songwriter Madeleine Peyroux's soulful voice is occupied so palpably by the spirit of Billie Holiday that it's almost scary. Peyroux is certainly influenced by the song and voice of Bessie Smith as well, but she approaches the material on her major-label debut from an entirely modern perspective, with strength and individuality as well as a hint of playfulness, like a stylish young woman looking great in a vintage dress.
Peyroux covers such classics as "Walkin' After Midnight," Edith Piaf's "La Vie En Rose," and Smith's "Reckless Blues" with style and agility, backed by such well-known and expert musicians as jazz pianist Cyrus Chestnut and guitarist Marc Ribot. DREAMLAND is buoyed as well by Peyroux's accomplished original songs, the bluesy vocal-Dobro tunes "Hey Sweet Man" and "Always a Use," and the album's dynamic, hopeful title track, DREAMLAND'S most contemporary and upbeat song.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 075678294624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)