Miles Davis Original Album Classics (5-CD)

Original Album Classics (5-CD)
Get email alerts for Miles Davis
4 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $36.58 Limited Time Only
List Price: $40.99
You Save: $4.41 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  X634
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: October 6, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Columbia/Legacy Euro

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.'Round Midnight
  • 2.Ah-Leu-Cha
  • 3.All of You
  • 4.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 5.Tadd's Delight
  • 6.Dear Old Stockholm
  • 7.Two Bass Hit
  • 8.Little Melonae
  • 9.Budo
  • 10.Sweet Sue, Just You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dr. Jackie
  • 2.Sid's Ahead
  • 3.Two Bass Hit
  • 4.Milestones
  • 5.Billy Boy
  • 6.Straight, No Chaser
  • 7.Two Bass Hit - (alternate take)
  • 8.Milestones - (alternate take)
  • 9.Straight, No Chaser - (alternate take)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.On Green Dolphin Street
  • 2.Fran Dance
  • 3.Stella by Starlight
  • 4.Love for Sale
  • 5.Straight, No Chaser
  • 6.My Funny Valentine
  • 7.Oleo

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Buzzard Song
  • 2.Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  • 3.Gone
  • 4.Gone, Gone, Gone
  • 5.Summertime
  • 6.Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess?
  • 7.Prayer
  • 8.Fishermen, Strawberry and Devil Crab
  • 9.My Man's Gone Now
  • 10.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 11.Here Come de Honey Man
  • 12.I Wants to Stay Here (Aka I Loves You Porgy)
  • 13.There's a Boat That's Leaving Soon for New York
  • 14.I Loves You, Porgy
  • 15.Gone - (Take 4)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Springsville
  • 2.The Maids of Cadiz
  • 3.The Duke
  • 4.My Ship
  • 5.Miles Ahead
  • 6.Blues for Pablo
  • 7.New Rhumba
  • 8.The Meaning of the Blues
  • 9.Lament
  • 10.I Don't Wanna Be Kissed
  • 11.Springsville
  • 12.Blues for Pablo
  • 13.Medley: The Meaning of the Blues / Lament
  • 14.I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)

Product Description:

Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet, flugelhorn); Romeo Penque (flute, clarinet, oboe); Eddie Cain, Jerome Richardson, Sid Cooper (flute, clarinet); Danny Bank (alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet); Lee Konitz, Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Louis Mucci, Ernie Royal, Johnny Carisi, Johnny Coles, Taft Jordan, Bernie Glow (trumpet); Tony Miranda, Gunther Schuller , Julius Watkins, Willie Ruff (French horn); Dick Hixon, Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones (trombone); Tom Mitchell (bass trombone); Billy Ray Barber (tuba); Red Garland, Wynton Kelly, Bill Evans (piano); Jimmy Cobb , Philly Joe Jones (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Andr‚ Hodier; George Avakian; Charles Edward Smith.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Aram Avakian.
Arranger: Gil Evans.
These five-disc box sets issued by the German arm of Sony BMG are for the most part a fine way to reissue original recordings en masse -- unlike their American counterparts who do the sloppiest job possible. If you already have these classic '50s sides by Miles Davis with his first great quintet and with Gil Evans, then don't bother reading further. If you don't, pick up these sides with Kind of Blue and Sketches of Spain (the only complaint is that these weren't in this set instead of 58 Sessions and Miles Ahead, but there were reasons for that and some of them have to do with commerce). In any case, these are the extended versions of the albums when they were reissued definitively on CD in the 1990s and early 2000s. They contain bonus cuts not on the original CDs, the sound is warm and balanced, and each disc comes in its own case. The other cool thing is for the consumer: if you look around online, you can find these boxes dirt cheap, for about six or seven dollars a disc, which is cheaper than their domestic counterparts would be. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 886971603828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)