Jimmy Heath The Thumper (Limited)

The Thumper (Limited)
Get email alerts for Jimmy Heath
3 ratings
Price: $11
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  DQ64
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 30, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ojc


  • 1.For Minors Only
  • 2.Who Needs It?
  • 3.Don't You Know I Care
  • 4.Two Tees
  • 5.The Thumper
  • 6.New Keep
  • 7.For All We Know
  • 8.I Can Make You Love Me
  • 9.Nice People

Product Description:

Jimmy Heath Sextet: Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone); Nat Adderley (cornet); Curtis Fuller (trombone); Wynton Kelly (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums).
Recorded at Reeves Sound Studios, New York, New York in September 1959. Originally released on Riverside (1160). Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1994, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Jimmy Heath at age 33 made his recording debut as a leader on this Riverside session which has been reissued on CD in the OJC series. The hard bop tenor-saxophonist is in superior form, contributing five originals (of which "For Minors Only" is best known), jamming with an all-star sextet (including cornetist Nat Adderley, trombonist Curtis Fuller, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath) and taking two standards as ballad features. The excellent session of late '50s straightahead jazz is uplifted above the normal level by Heath's writing. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 91,719
  • UPC: 025218182829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)