Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis The Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Cookbook, Volume 2

The Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Cookbook, Volume 2
Get email alerts for Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis
WINTER SALE: $9.99 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.99 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  35YHW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: June 12, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.The Rev
  • 2.Stardust
  • 3.Skillet
  • 4.I Surrender, Dear
  • 5.The Broilers
  • 6.Willow Weep for Me - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Jerome Richardson (flute); Shirley Scott (organ); George Duvivier (bass); Arthur Edgehill (drums).
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey on September 12 & December 5, 1958. Originally released on Prestige (7161). Includes original liner notes by Bob Sneed.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1991, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Jerome Richardson (flute, tenor saxophone); Shirley Scott (organ); Arthur Edgehill (drums).
Recording information: Hackensack, NJ (12/15/1958); New Jersey (12/15/1958); Nj (12/15/1958).
A mellow set of soulful hard bop starring the underappreciated tenor Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and the powerful organist Shirley Scott, this set, true to its name, really cooks. Like the best organ-based jazz, the tempos are mostly kept painfully slow, with only the closing "The Broilers" perking up to a trot. Throughout, Davis and Scott trade solos fluidly, with Davis' blues-based, honking tone perfectly suited to the churchy grace of Scott's organ. (Bassist George Duvivier and drummer Arthur Edgehill are, to borrow a phrase from Phil Spector, felt but not heard.) The three Davis and Scott originals are excellent, but the surprise is how well hoary old standards like "Stardust" and "Surrender, Dear" fit in this low-key setting. The CD adds a bonus track, "Willow Weep for Me," recorded during the same sessions. ~ Stewart Mason

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 72,464
  • UPC: 025218665322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)