Earl Hines Earl Hines and the Duke's Men

Earl Hines and the Duke's Men
Get email alerts for Earl Hines
WINTER SALE: $10.77 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.21 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  K77Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 26, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Delmark


  • 1.Kansas City Caboose
  • 2.Sleepy Baboon
  • 3.Ration Stomp
  • 4.Blues On My Weary Mind
  • 5.Design For Jivin'
  • 6.I'll Get By
  • 7.Cat's Boogie
  • 8.For Jumpers Only
  • 9.I Gotta Go Baby
  • 10.Swingin' The Cat
  • 11.Helena's Dream
  • 12.Kansas City Caboose
  • 13.I Love My Lovin' Lover
  • 14.Life With Fatha
  • 15.Trouble, Trouble

Product Description:

Earl Hines Sextet: Earl Hines (piano); Betty Roche (vocals); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Al Casey (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Sid Catlett (drums).
Sonny Greer & His Rextet: Sonny Greer (drums); Brick Fleagle (arranger); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); Rex Stewart (cornet); Lawrence Brown (trombone); Marlowe Morris (piano); Teddy Walters (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass).
Cat Anderson And His Orchestra: Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joe Straud (vocals, trumpet); Curby Alexander, Vince Royal (alto saxophone); John Harzfield, Vincent McCleary (tenor saxophone); Howard Austin (baritone saxophone); Lee Brown, Don Devilla, Archie Johnson (trumpet); Joe Britton, Floyd Brady, LeRoy Hardison, George Stevenson (trombone); Horatio Duran (piano); Bob Paige (bass); Bobby Donaldson (drums).
Earl Hines recorded in New York, New York on April 26, 1944. Sonny Greer recorded in New York, New York on May 16, 1944. Cat Anderson recorded in New York, New York on May 14, 1947. Includes liner notes by Leonard J. Bukowski.
Personnel: Earl Hines (piano); Betty Roch‚ (vocals); Teddy Walters, Al Casey (guitar); Ray Nance (violin, trumpet); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Curby Alexander, Vince Royal, Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); John Hartzfield, Flip Phillips, Vincent McCleary (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney, Howard Austin (baritone saxophone); Joe Straud, Don Devilla, Archie Johnson, Lee Brown, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); George Stevenson , Joe Britton, Floyd Brady, LeRoy Hardison, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Horacio Dur n, Marlowe Morris (piano); Big Sid Catlett, Sonny Greer, Bobby Donaldson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Leonard Bukowski.
Recording information: New York, NY (04/26/1944-05/14/1947).
Unknown Contributor Role: Cat Anderson.
Arranger: Brick Fleagle.
This very interesting Delmark CD has formerly rare selections from three different groups in the mid-'40s. Pianist Earl Hines heads a septet that also features trumpeter Ray Nance, altoist Johnny Hodges, Flip Phillips on tenor and vocalist Betty Roche. Drummer Sonny Greer leads a group of Ellingtonians that include cornetist Rex Stewart, clarinetist Jimmy Hamilton, trombonist Lawrence Brown and baritonist Harry Carney, and high-note trumpet wiz Cat Anderson is at the helm of a competent (if somewhat anonymous) big band. All of this music is essentially swing with bop overtones and the 15 performances (originally on the Apollo label) are quite enjoyable. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153047023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)