Stan Getz Melody Express, 1948-1952

Get email alerts for Stan Getz
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $9 (53% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZTJA 82599
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 17, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Records UK


  • 1.Pardon My Bop
  • 2.Interlude In Bebop
  • 3.As I Live And Bop
  • 4.Melody Express
  • 5.Yvette
  • 6.Potter's Luck
  • 7.The Song Is You
  • 8.Wildwood
  • 9.Stella By Starlight
  • 10.Time On My Hands
  • 11.Tis Autumn
  • 12.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 13.Lover Come Back To Me
  • 14.Body And Soul
  • 15.Stars Fell On Alabama
  • 16.You Turned The Tables On Me
  • 17.Lullaby Of Birdland
  • 18.Autumn Leaves
  • 19.Autumn Leaves (Alternate Take)
  • 20.Fools Rush In
  • 21.Fools Rush In (Alternate Take)
  • 22.These Foolish Things
  • 23.Thanks For The Memory
  • 24.Hymn Of The Orient
  • 25.These Foolish Things
  • 26.How Deep Is The Ocean?

Product Description:

Contains 26 tracks.
Personnel includes: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Horace Silver, Al Haig (piano); Jimmy Raney (guitar); Roy Haynes (drums).
Personnel: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Raney (guitar); Duke Jordan, Horace Silver, Al Haig (piano); Frank Isola, Charles Perry , Roy Haynes (drums).
Liner Note Author: Simon Spillett.
Recording information: New York, NY (04/??/1948-12/29/1952).
The Jasmine compilation Melody Express 1948-52 spans an exciting four years for Stan Getz. Getz had led his first date in 1946 (after several years in a few of the top big bands) and, when this disc begins, was currently electrifying jazz audiences with Woody Herman's Second Herd. By disc's end, in 1952, he was leading a celebrated group -- variously a quartet or quintet -- that was making some incredible recordings for the Roost label. Unfortunately, the career highlights mentioned above aren't captured here; instead, listeners are presented with a compilation that fills the gaps in Getz's late-'40s and early-'50s career. Melody Express 1948-52 does capture the tenor's transition from bop to cool and West Coast jazz during the time, and presents some great playing with various members of his group, including guitarist Jimmy Raney and pianist Horace Silver (the latter of whom contributes the composition "Potter's Luck"). Also, the latter half displays Getz's growing facility with standards, namely "Stella by Starlight," "Body and Soul," and "Autumn Leaves." ~ John Bush
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Jasmine Records Import CD Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,232
  • UPC: 604988259926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)