Ella Fitzgerald The Legendary, Volume 3

The Legendary, Volume 3
Get email alerts for Ella Fitzgerald
List Price: $11.95
You Save: $1.85 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  X77Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 10, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Acrobat


  • 1.Wacky Dust
  • 2.Gotta Pebble In My Shoe
  • 3.Strictly From Dixie
  • 4.Woe Is Me
  • 5.FDR Jones
  • 6.I Love Each Move You Make
  • 7.It's Foxy
  • 8.I Found My Yellow Basket
  • 9.Undecided
  • 10.'Tain't What You Do (It's The Way That Cha Do It)
  • 11.One Side Of Me
  • 12.My Heart Belongs To Daddy
  • 13.Sugar Pie
  • 14.It's Slumbertime Along The Swanee
  • 15.Chew Chew Chew (Your Bubble Gum)
  • 16.Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • 17.If That's What You're Thinking, You're Wrong
  • 18.If You Ever Change Your Mind
  • 19.Little White Lies
  • 20.Coochi-Coochi-Coo

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Bobby Johnson (vocals, guitar); Hilton Jefferson (vocals, alto saxophone); Teddy McRae (vocals, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Taft Jordan, Dick Vance (vocals, trumpet); Tommy Fulford (vocals, piano); Chick Webb (vocals, drums); Beverly Peer (vocals); John Trueheart (guitar); Wayman Carver (flute, tenor saxophone); Garvin Bushell (clarinet, alto saxophone); Mario BauzĀ , Bobby Stark (trumpet); Nat Story, George Matthews (trombone).
Liner Note Author: Peter Gamble.
Recording information: New York, NY (08/17/1938-04/21/1939).
The third in a five-volume series from the obscure British label Acrobat, The Legendary, Vol. 3 concentrates on the series of late-'30s sides recorded by Ella Fitzgerald at the dawn of her career, usually fronting the Chick Webb Orchestra for an occasional vocal feature or appearing with a smaller studio band. While early on, Ella's superior talent at reading a song was evident only occasionally, the swing powerhouse that was the Webb band became the perfect vehicle for her extroverted talents. Highlights include the last of her Webb hits ("Undecided," "My Heart Belongs to Daddy") and the best of her early featured material like "Little White Lies." Unfortunately, this volume has many novelties as well, including "Chew, Chew, Chew (Your Bubble Gum)," "It's Slumbertime Along the Swanee," and "I Found My Yellow Basket" (the latter a rewrite of the hit "A-Tisket, A-Tasket"). For the collectors who want all of her material, there's the excellent chronological series on Classics, while listeners new to Ella will far prefer a less exhausting collection. ~ John Bush
Acrobat Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 824046510824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)