Desmond Dekker Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker

Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker
Get email alerts for Desmond Dekker
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
sku:  368J3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Sanctuary Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/02, p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "...A virtusl instruction manual in the best way to mix rocksteady and ska..."


  • 1.Israelites
  • 2.You Can Get It if You Really Want
  • 3.007 (Shanty Town)
  • 4.It Mek
  • 5.Pickney Gal
  • 6.Honour Your Mother and Father
  • 7.Music Like Dirt
  • 8.Licking Stick
  • 9.Unity
  • 10.Mount Zion
  • 11.Live and Learn
  • 12.It Pays
  • 13.Reggae Recipe
  • 14.Pretty Africa
  • 15.Archie Wah Wah
  • 16.Fu Man Chu
  • 17.Where Did It Go
  • 18.King of Ska
  • 19.Sabotage
  • 20.Hippopotamus
  • 21.Wise Man
  • 22.Problems
  • 23.Beautiful and Dangerous
  • 24.Get Up Edina
  • 25.Mother Pepper

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Demond Dekker (vocals).
Compilation producers: Laurence Cane-Honeysett, John Reed, Joe Smith.
Recorded between 1963 & 1970. Includes liner notes by Harry Hawke.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: Harry Hawke.
Desmond Dekker has been well served by the reissue labels, with the shelves buckling under all the compilations dedicated to his music. The bulk, however, invariably draw from the same limited pool of songs, with most ignoring the singer's early years entirely. The two-CD You Can Get It If You Really Want: The Definitive Collection is pretty much the only compilation that provides a proper career retrospective, with the rest drawing exclusively from his 1967-1971 recordings. Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker, while no substitute for You Can Get It If You Really Want, at least dips back into Dekker's early years. One of the best one-disc roundups around, the compilation top-loads the set with Dekker's international hits (the only one missing is 1975's "Sing a Little Song"), with the other 20 tracks drawn willy-nilly from the Kong years (1963-1971). There's no attempt at chronology -- and ska numbers rub shoulders with reggae tracks -- nor any sense of sequencing, so the tempos and moods shift dramatically at times. By and large, though, the set will sate most casual Dekker collectors, with the selector having worked hard to include most modern-day fans' favorite numbers. Those looking for more should purchase You Can Get It If You Really Want, but for those seeking just the hits and a decent overview, this set is the perfect solution. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5050159903627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)