Steve Hillage Live At The Rainbow 1977

Live At The Rainbow 1977
Get email alerts for Steve Hillage
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
15 copies available
sku:  39W33
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 22, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: United States Distribution


  • 1.Octave Doctors
  • 2.It's All Too Much
  • 3.Light in the Sky
  • 4.Radio
  • 5.Electrick Gypsies
  • 6.The Salmon Song
  • 7.Solar Musick Suite, Pt. 2
  • 8.Motivation
  • 9.Saucer Surfing
  • 10.Searching for the Spark
  • 11.Hurdy Gurdy Man

Product Description:

Personnel: Steve Hillage (vocals, guitar); Miquette Giraudy (synthesizer, background vocals); Curtis Robertson (electric bass); Joe Blocker (drums).
Recording information: The Rainbow Theatre, Finsbury Park, London (11/03/1977).
Steve Hillage's Rainbow 1977 is an authorized release taken from the last night of his tour at the famed London venue. With the exception of "Electrick Gypsies," this is not the same show documented on Live Herald, which was at the same venue a few months earlier. This date, from the Motivation Radio Tour took place nearly after the album was released. The music here is also different from that found on the video Germany '77. Hillage assembled this release after hearing the tapes of a popular bootleg he'd heard called Gon Go Long and added tracks not included there. The booklet in the release is a reproduction of the actual concert program. Hence, the liners--written by Hillage--are in tiny type, making them all but impossible to read without a magnifying glass. The photos are mostly black-and-white and color reproductions of the lineup. The music is fantastic. Hillage and Miquette Giraudy enlisted the American rhythm section comprised of drummer Joe Blocker and bassist Curtis Robertson, who add a much heavier -- at times almost funky -- bottom end than his U.K. bands. That said, this is a thoroughly proggy space rock gig. The material is drawn from Fish Rising and L, with four perfroomances of the songs on Motivation Radio. The recording is merely very good instead of excellent (though it's better than standard board tapes or the bootleg that provided source material for some selections). The playing is inspired, chancey, ambitious. There are two covers included: an anthemic reading of George Harrison's "It's All Too Much" and a fine version of Donovan's "Hurdy Gurdy Man" to close. Highlights from his own work include "Light in the Sky," "The Salmon Song," "Solar Music Suite, Pt. 2" and the sprawling 15-plus minute "Searching for the Spark," which is worth the price all by itself. Another bonus is the inclusion of Hillage's on-stage banter and incisive humor. If you have the boot, this contains music you don't have and is a viable way to show support for the artist; if you don't and are either a Hillage fan or merely curious about his work, this is necessary for your shelf. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5060230863771
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)