Duke in Blue
Get email alerts for Ellis Marsalis
4 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 24752
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 1-2/00, p.109
"...[His] abilities as a pianist have gone largely unnoticed....this solo collection of Ellington songs, ranging from the romping to the ruminative....[a] meaningful, swinging statement and [he] is always respectful of tradition."
Vibe - 3/00, p.214
"...brings an inspired vitality....meeting the challenge with imagination and originality, ably condensing an orchestra of instruments into the rich textures, well-turned nuances, and continually shifting rhythms of his interpretive piano..."


  • 1.The Mooche
  • 2.Prelude to a Kiss
  • 3.Squatty Roo
  • 4.Sophisticated Lady
  • 5.Just Squeeze Me
  • 6.Mood Indigo
  • 7.Caravan
  • 8.Come Sunday
  • 9.Creole Love Call
  • 10.Reflections in D
  • 11.Drop Me Off in Harlem
  • 12.Melancholia
  • 13.I'm Beginning To See The Light / Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me / In A Mellow Tone
  • 14.Duke in Blue

Product Description:

Solo performer: Ellis Marsalis (piano).
Recorded at The Performing Arts Center, University Of New Orleans, New Orleans, Louisiana on March 23 & 24, 1999. Includes liner notes by Ellis Marsalis.
Recorded during Duke Ellington's centennial year, this solo piano date by Ellis Marsalis is a tasteful tribute to Ellington. Marsalis expertly performs 15 songs from Duke's repertoire (including three tunes in a medley), sometimes modernizing the chords but always keeping the melody close by. The problem with the recital from the listener's standpoint is that the results are mostly very predictable and contain no real surprises. Marsalis' theme variations do not wander far from the melody, his treatments are conventional, and most of the songs are familiar warhorses. So although successful as background music or as an introduction to some of Ellington's most popular melodies, jazz listeners wanting more adventure and chance-taking may be a little disappointed by the safeness of it all. ~ Scott Yanow

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972475226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)