The Blow Monkeys Animal Magic (2-CD)

Animal Magic (2-CD)
Get email alerts for The Blow Monkeys
Price: $18.89
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FE7K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 4, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Label: Cherry Red UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Digging Your Scene
  • 2.Animal Magic
  • 3.Wicked Ways
  • 4.Sweet Murder
  • 5.Aeroplane City Lovesong
  • 6.I Nearly Died Laughing
  • 7.Don't Be Scared of Me
  • 8.Burn the Rich
  • 9.I Backed a Winner (In You)
  • 10.Forbidden Fruit
  • 11.Heaven Is a Place I'm Moving To
  • 12.My America [B-Side]
  • 13.Walking the Blue Beat [B-Side]
  • 14.Sweet Murder [Eek-A-Mix] [B-Side]
  • 15.Kill the Pig [Pig Mix] [B-Side]
  • 16.Digging Your Scene [Scat Mix] [B-Side]
  • 17.Superfly

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Digging Your Scene [Original Version - Pete Wilson Mix]
  • 2.Aeroplane City Lovesong [Pete Wilson Remix]
  • 3.Guess I Love Her Now [Demo]
  • 4.Forbidden Fruit [Demo]
  • 5.Animal Magic [Demo]
  • 6.Wicked Ways [Demo]
  • 7.I Nearly Died Laughing [Demo]
  • 8.Sweet Murder [Demo]
  • 9.Digging Your Scene [Long Version]
  • 10.Wicked Ways [Long Version]
  • 11.Don't Be Scared of Me [Extended Version]
  • 12.Sweet Murder (The Smile on Her Face) [Extended Version]
  • 13.Digging Your Scene [Instrumental]
  • 14.Sweet Murder (The Smile on Her Face) [Murderess Dub Version]
  • 15.Wicked Ways [Instrumental]
  • 16.Digging Your Scene [Re-Mix - Phil Harding]

Product Description:

Another British band that incorporated R&B influences into its pop/rock sound, the Blow Monkeys (led by Bruce Robert Howard, aka Dr. Robert) scored a Top 20 single in the U.S. with the engaging "Digging Your Scene," which featured nasal lead vocals and a swirling mixture of keyboards, guitar, and female background cooing. Like Scritti Politti, the Blow Monkeys possessed a quirkiness that set them apart from other bands of their ilk, which may have limited further success in the States. The band's 1986 album Animal Magic surrounds the hit with similar pop frivolities like the catchy "Wicked Ways" and the upbeat "Don't Be Scared of Me." Though the band overreaches a bit with the ballad "Heaven Is a Place I'm Moving To" and the title track's silly attempt at exotica, most of Animal Magic is pleasant and intelligent enough to make it a better-than-usual release from a 1980s one-hit wonder. ~ William Cooper

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929154339
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)