COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Freddy Cole Always

Get email alerts for Freddy Cole
4 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $15 (75% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZDP 9670
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: April 28, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Fantasy

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 10/95, p.94
"Freddy Cole's intimately husky voice is one of the most listenable of this era....Cole's interpretation of beloved ballads...are nothing less than exquisite....[ALWAYS] delivers warm believability..."


  • 1.Isn't She Lovely
  • 2.You Must Believe in Spring
  • 3.The Rose
  • 4.Remember
  • 5.I'm a Fool to Want You
  • 6.If
  • 7.Maybe You'll Be There
  • 8.Until It's Time for You to Go
  • 9.Count to Ten
  • 10.Interlude
  • 11.This Is Always

Product Description:

Personnel: Freddy Cole (vocals); Lionel Cole (various instruments); Grover Washington, Jr. (soprano saxophone); Frank Perowsky (soprano & tenor saxophones, flute); Antonio Hart (alto & tenor saxophones); William Kerr (alto saxophone, flute); Javon Jackson (tenor saxophone); Roger Rosenberg (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet); Byron Stripling (trumpet, flugelhorn); Robin Eubanks (trombone); Jeff Scott (French horn); Mel Martin (flute, alto flute); Sanford Allen, Lesa Terry (violin); Al Brown (viola); Eileen Folson, Gerri Sutyak (cello); Joe Locke (vibraphone); Cyrus Chestnut (piano); Tim Pierce (acoustic & electric guitars); Tom Hubbard, George Mraz (bass); Yoron Israel, Russ Kunkel (drums); Steve Berrios (percussion).
Recorded at Tyrone Music Studio, Los Angeles, California; Hit Factory and Clinton Recording Studio, New York in December 1994. Includes liner notes by Jeff Kaliss.
Personnel: Freddy Cole (vocals); Tom Hubbard (vocals); Tim Pierce (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Sanford Allen, Lesa Terry (violin); Al Brown (viola); Eileen Folson , Gerri Sutyak (cello); Mel Martin (flute, alto flute); Frank Perowsky (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); William Kerr (flute, alto saxophone); Roger Rosenberg (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Grover Washington, Jr. (soprano saxophone); Antonio Hart (alto saxophone); Javon Jackson (tenor saxophone); Byron Stripling (trumpet, flugelhorn); Jef Scott (French horn); Robin Eubanks (trombone); Cyrus Chestnut (piano); Lionel Cole (keyboards); Joe Locke (vibraphone); Russ Kunkel, Yoron Israel (drums); Steve Berrios (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Michael Semanick.
Liner Note Authors: M. Kassner; Jeff Kaliss.
Recording information: New York, NY.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Cyrus Chestnut; Eileen Folson ; Byron Strifling; Dolores Metzner; Freddy Cole; George Mraz ; Grover Washington, Jr.; Tom Hubbard ; Al Brown; Antonio Hart; Robin Eubanks; Roger Rosenberg; Steve Berrios; Tim Pierce; Sanford Allen; Yoron Israel; Gerri Sutyak; Lesa Terry; Lionel Cole; Jef Scott.
Arrangers: Freddy Cole; Tom Hubbard ; Joe Locke; Todd Barkan; Tom McIntosh; Lionel Cole.
You have to hand it to Freddy Cole for breathing fresh air into such overdone classics as Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" and Amanda McBroom's "The Rose," originally made famous by Bette Midler. Cole, whose voice is reminiscent of his much-beloved older brother, Nat "King" Cole, even successfully tackles David Gates' "If," popularized by '70s mellow marvel Bread. Cyrus Chestnut shines on the piano throughout. Always also features Antonio Hart, Javon Jackson, Grover Washington, Jr., and Russ Kunkel. Nice arrangements and understated production. ~ Tim Griggs

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,202
  • UPC: 025218967020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19