Music Making in Chicago 1929-1935 (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Tampa Red
Price: $27.10
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $1.89 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  35H3W
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 13, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: JSP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Through Train Blues
  • 2.Lonesome Man Blues
  • 3.Grievin' Me Blues
  • 4.It's Tight Like That
  • 5.It's Red Hot
  • 6.Too Black Bad
  • 7.Good Gordon Gin
  • 8.Down The Alley
  • 9.Long Ago Blues
  • 10.It's Tight Like That
  • 11.How Long How Long Blues
  • 12.You Can't Come In
  • 13.It's Tight Like That No 2
  • 14.Selling That Stuff
  • 15.Beedle Um Bum
  • 16.Juicy Lemon Blues
  • 17.Chicago Moan Blues
  • 18.Strange Woman Blues
  • 19.Jelly Whippin' Blues
  • 20.Uncle Bud (Dog-Gone Him)
  • 21.Train Time Blues
  • 22.How Long, How Long Blues
  • 23.It's Tight Like That
  • 24.Sho' Is Hot
  • 25.Mess, Katie, Mess

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Boot It Boy
  • 2.My Daddy Rocks Me
  • 3.Givin' It Away
  • 4.What You Gonna Do
  • 5.It's So Nice
  • 6.Voice Of The Blues
  • 7.The Duck's Yas-Yas-Yas
  • 8.Pat That Bread
  • 9.What Is That Tastes Like Gravy
  • 10.You Better Tighten Up On It
  • 11.Prison Bound Blues
  • 12.You Got To Reap What You Sow
  • 13.I Wonder Where My Easy Rider's Gone
  • 14.Come On Mama, Do That Dance
  • 15.Friendless Blues
  • 16.Pig Meat Papa
  • 17.Hear Me Beefin' At You
  • 18.Mama Don't Allow No Easy Riders Here
  • 19.Saturday Night Scrontch
  • 20.Mama Don't Allow No Easy Riders Here
  • 21.Strewin' Your Mess
  • 22.Dying Mercy Blues
  • 23.Whiskey Drinkin' Blues
  • 24.Doggin' Me Around Blues
  • 25.Worried Man Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tomorrow Blues
  • 2.Billie The Grinder
  • 3.Blue Moanin' Blues
  • 4.Kunjine Baby
  • 5.That Stuff You Sell
  • 6.Station Time Blues
  • 7.Moanin' Heart Blues
  • 8.Chicago Moan Blues
  • 9.Black Hearted Blues
  • 10.But They Got It Fixed Right On
  • 11.Corrine Corrina No2
  • 12.The Dirty Dozen No2
  • 13.I.C. Moan Blues
  • 14.Cryin' Shame Blues
  • 15.You Rascal You No1
  • 16.You Rascal You
  • 17.She Can Love So Good
  • 18.Bear Cat's Kitten
  • 19.Unhappy Blues
  • 20.Jealous Hearted Mama Blues
  • 21.They Call It Boogie Woogie
  • 22.Toogaloo Blues
  • 23.Jinx Doctor Blues
  • 24.Boogie Woogie Dance
  • 25.Bumble Bee Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.New Strangers Blues
  • 2.Georgia Hound Blues
  • 3.Things 'Bout Coming My Way
  • 4.Cotton Seed Blues
  • 5.Stop And Listen Blues
  • 6.Down In Spirit Blues
  • 7.Mama Don't Leave Me Here
  • 8.Please Mister Blues
  • 9.No Matter How She Done It
  • 10.Reckless Man Blues
  • 11.Don't Leave Me Here
  • 12.Dead Cats On The Line
  • 13.You Can't Get That Stuff No More
  • 14.Things 'Bout Coming My Way No 2
  • 15.Turpentine Blues
  • 16.Western Bound Blues
  • 17.I'll Kill Your Soul (And Dare Your Spirit To Move)
  • 18.If I Let You Get Away With It (You'll Do It All The Time)
  • 19.I'll Find My Way
  • 20.You've Got To Do Better
  • 21.Kingfish Blues
  • 22.That Stuff Is Here
  • 23.Black Angel Blues
  • 24.Things 'Bout Coming My Way
  • 25.Denver Blues

Product Description:

'Tampa was a quiet type person, but you go to his house, he would treat you real nice,' Jimmy Rogers remembered. 'He would give you points on what you were trying to learn... Born some time between 1900 and 1904, Red made his way to Chicago via Alabama, Mississippi and Arkansa. Sometime towards the end of the 1920s, he met pianist Georgia Thomas Dorsey. Tampa made his recording debut for Paramount around May 1928. But he sought out Dorsey and the pair cut It's Tight Like That. In Tom's words, That thing was a moneymaker.' Through hokum, jug bands and blues, they cut many sides, most imbued with a unique excitement. Red would be a recording artist until the 1950s, performing on many famous sessions. As the Reverend Thomas Dorsey, Georgia Tom became a cornerstone of the Gospel movement. These recordings show how firm their musical foundations were.
JSP Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,202
  • UPC: 788065716028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.84/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)