Overkill W.F.O.

Get email alerts for Overkill
6 ratings
Price: $14.20
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  DRQA
on most orders of $75+

CD Details

  • Released: July 19, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Atlantic UK


  • 1.Where It Hurts
  • 2.Fast Junkie
  • 3.The Wait - New High In Lows
  • 4.They Eat Their Young
  • 5.What's Your Problem
  • 6.Under One
  • 7.Supersonic Hate
  • 8.R. I. P. (Undone)
  • 9.Up To Zero
  • 10.Bastard Nation
  • 11.Gasoline Dream
  • 12.Fake
  • 13.Fake
  • 14.Fake
  • 15.Fake
  • 16.Fake
  • 17.Fake
  • 18.Fake
  • 19.Fake
  • 20.Fake
  • 21.Fake
  • 22.Fake
  • 23.Fake
  • 24.Fake
  • 25.Fake
  • 26.Fake
  • 27.Fake
  • 28.Fake
  • 29.Fake
  • 30.Fake
  • 31.Fake
  • 32.Fake
  • 33.Fake
  • 34.Fake
  • 35.Fake
  • 36.Fake
  • 37.Fake
  • 38.Fake
  • 39.Fake
  • 40.Fake
  • 41.Fake
  • 42.Fake
  • 43.Fake
  • 44.Fake
  • 45.Fake
  • 46.Fake
  • 47.Fake
  • 48.Fake
  • 49.Fake
  • 50.Fake
  • 51.Fake
  • 52.Fake
  • 53.Fake
  • 54.Fake
  • 55.Fake
  • 56.Fake
  • 57.Fake
  • 58.Fake
  • 59.Fake
  • 60.Fake
  • 61.Fake
  • 62.Fake
  • 63.Fake
  • 64.Fake
  • 65.Fake
  • 66.Fake
  • 67.Fake
  • 68.Fake
  • 69.Fake
  • 70.Fake
  • 71.Fake
  • 72.Fake
  • 73.Fake
  • 74.Fake
  • 75.Fake
  • 76.Fake
  • 77.Fake
  • 78.Fake
  • 79.Fake
  • 80.Fake
  • 81.Fake
  • 82.Fake
  • 83.Fake
  • 84.Fake
  • 85.Fake
  • 86.Fake
  • 87.Fake
  • 88.Fake
  • 89.Fake
  • 90.Fake
  • 91.Fake
  • 92.Fake
  • 93.Fake
  • 94.Fake
  • 95.Fake
  • 96.Fake
  • 97.Fake
  • 98.Hidden Bonus Track
  • 99.Fake

Product Description:

Overkill: Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth (vocals); Rob Cannavino (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Merritt Gant (guitar); D.D. Verni (bass, background vocals); Tim Mallare (drums).
Recorded at Ambient Recording Company, Stamford, Connecticut between April & May 1994.
Personnel: Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth (vocals); Tom Fury, Merritt Gant (guitar); Rob Cannavino (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Doug Cook (keyboards); Tim Mallare (drums); D.D. Verni (background vocals).
Recording information: Ambient Recording Co., Stamford, CT (04/1994-05/1994).
Photographer: Daniel Hastings.
Overkill's second release for Atlantic Records, W.F.O. probably represents the formal beginnings of a '90s commercial swoon for the thrash metal band. The group had formed on the East Coast during the early-'80s thrash heyday, and somehow managed to make a name for itself within a genre dominated by mostly West Coast artists like Metallica, Slayer, and Megadeth. It seemed like there was very little room for artists from New York's metal underground in the very tight quarters of aggressive metal's small but staunchly loyal market. With the exception of Anthrax, there weren't too many bands capable of making a real mark on the national metal scene, but Overkill was never discouraged, and on a couple of occasions (most notably after the 1991 release of the band's finest effort, Horrorscope) it seemed that things might work out for the group. But by the time of this 1994 release, the group's popularity might have been waning a little due to rock fashion trends leaning heavily away from thrash or anything that reminded listeners of the '80s. That's not to say that W.F.O. isn't a fine recording. It is probably one of the band's best, and last, thrash juggernauts. Standouts like "Fast Junkie" and "Up to Zero" are a slight return to the group's musical roots when compared to music from the 1993 release, I Hear Black. Other highlights like "They Eat Their Young" demonstrate some musical growth and overall attention to heaviness that many fans have found endearing about the group. Well-produced and featuring punchy, classic material, W.F.O. is yet another powerful, underappreciated '90s Overkill recording. ~ Vincent Jeffries

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 80,159
  • UPC: 075678263026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)