Bill Monroe The Gospel Spirit

The Gospel Spirit
Get email alerts for Bill Monroe
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  CA6X
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 24, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: MCA Nashville


  • 1.I'm Working on a Building
  • 2.I'll Meet You in Church Sunday Morning
  • 3.Lord Protect My Soul
  • 4.Angels Rock Me to Sleep
  • 5.Get Down on Your Knees and Pray
  • 6.He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
  • 7.A Voice From on High
  • 8.Let the Light Shine Down on Me
  • 9.Lord Lead Me On
  • 10.I Saw the Light
  • 11.Precious Memories
  • 12.I've Found a Hiding Place
  • 13.Life's Railway to Heaven
  • 14.Jesus Hold My Hand
  • 15.I Am a Pilgrim
  • 16.Wayfaring Stranger

Product Description:

Personnel: Bill Monroe (vocals, mandolin); Rudy Lyle (vocals, baritone, banjo); Milton Estes (vocals, bass voice); Edd Mayfield, Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Birch Monroe, Joel Price (vocals); Joel Price, Charlie Cline (baritone); Gordon Terry (bass voice, fiddle); Culley Holt, Birch Monroe, Buddy Killen (bass voice); Grady Martin, Jimmy Selph, Jackie Phelps (guitar); Owen Bradley (organ); Ernie Newton (bass guitar); Jimmy Martin (vocals, guitar); Farris Coursey (drums).
Recording information: Nashville, TN (04/08/1950-03/21/1958).
Photographer: Raeburn Flerlage.
While many country artists have made inspirational singles or albums on an occasional specialty basis, rather like making a Christmas record, but spent most of their recording careers performing secular material, bluegrass music tends to admit religious subject matter as one of its constants, not, perhaps quite as frequent a topic as lost love, but fairly close. Thus, the Bill Monroe & His Blue Grass Boys' entry in MCA Nashville's series of discount-priced 2004 compilations called Gospel Spirit (there are also discs by Loretta Lynn, the Statler Brothers, and Conway Twitty) is really just a distillation of some of the group's regular recordings for the most part. Among the 16 tracks, six were cut for a 1958 religious LP, I Saw the Light, but the rest, drawn from singles dating back to 1950, are just bluegrass songs that happen to treat Christian themes, starting with a version of the Carter Family's "I'm Working on a Building," cut in 1954. One gets to hear different versions of the band. The earliest track, 1950s "I'll Meet You in Church Sunday Morning," features Monroe with his brother Birch Monroe, Jimmy Martin, and Joel Price, while the I Saw the Light tracks recorded eight years later use Edd Mayfield, Bessie Mae Mauldin or Culley Holt, Kenny Baker, and Gordon Terry (with producer Owen Bradley sitting in on an un-bluegrass-like organ on "Precious Memories," "Life's Railway to Heaven," and the closing track, "Wayfaring Stranger"). But Monroe's high tenor remains distinctive, whether playing off lead vocalists Martin, Mayfield, Charlie Cline (on 1955's "Let the Light Shine Down on Me"), or even Carter Stanley (on 1951's "Get Down on Your Knees and Pray"). And the music remains true to the high-lonesome sound of Bill Monroe's bluegrass. It's just that the lyrics on these tracks are all reverent. ~ William Ruhlmann

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498628669
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)