Frank Zappa Joe's Garage Acts I, II & III (2-CD)

Rolling Stone: 4 stars out of 5 - "...An uncommonly succinct single-minded endeavor....genuinely witty and well-conceived..."
Get email alerts for Frank Zappa
111 ratings
Price: $35.90
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  KY62
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 25, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Zappa Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/17/02, p.52
4 stars out of 5 - "...An uncommonly succinct single-minded endeavor....genuinely witty and well-conceived..."
Q - 8/95, pp.150-151
4 Stars - Excellent - "...this enjoyably low-budget satirical opera about masturbation, appliance-fetishism and the outlawing of music is done largely in smooth soul-jazz style..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.139
"For all the caustic intent and outrage, the finest moment is 'Watermelon In Easter Hay' -- one of Zappa's most celebrated guitar pieces."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Central Scruinizer
  • 2.Joe's Garage
  • 3.Catholic Girls
  • 4.Crew Slut
  • 5.Fembot in a Wet T - Shirt
  • 6.On the Bus
  • 7.Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?
  • 8.Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up
  • 9.Scruinizer Postlude
  • 10.A Token of My Extreme
  • 11.Stick It Out
  • 12.Sy Borg

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dong Work for Yuda
  • 2.Keep It Greasey
  • 3.Outside Now
  • 4.He Used to Cut the Grass
  • 5.Packard Goose
  • 6.Watermelon in Easter Hay
  • 7.A Little Green Rosetta

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Frank Zappa, Ike Willis, Dale Bozzio, Denny Walley, Al Malkin, Warren Cucurrullo, Ed Mann, Terry Bozzio, Geordie Hormel, Barbara Issak.
Originally released as a 3 LP set.
Composer: Frank Zappa.
Personnel: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar); Denny Walley (vocals, slide guitar); Ed Mann (vocals, percussion); Dale Bozzio, Al Malkin, Ike Willis, Arthur Barrow, Warren Cuccurullo (vocals); Craig Steward (harmonica); Marginal Chagrin (baritone saxophone); Stumuk (bass saxophone); Peter Wolf , Tommy Mars (keyboards); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums).
Audio Remixers: Mick Glossop; Steve Nye.
Recording information: Ken-Dun; Village Recorders.
Illustrator: John Williams .
The superlative repackaging and remastering undertaken by Ryko has put the original three-part, two-record set of this magnificent nonsense tale together for the first time. This is back to the madness of Freak Out, with more pop and doo-wop bursting through all the complicated stuff, letting you know that Zappa could write a hit single, if he could be bothered to do so. Joe's Garage is a hoot and harmlessly pornographic. The sleeve-note states that it is "a stupid story about how the government is trying to do away with music." It is absolutely no coincidence that throughout, the listener mistakes the "scrutinizer" as the "scrotumizer." Zappa was that rude, and that funny.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,236
  • UPC: 824302386125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)