Bauhaus In the Flat Field [Reissue]

In the Flat Field [Reissue]
Get email alerts for Bauhaus
25 ratings
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.17 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  QHRC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 7, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: 4Ad / Ada

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/99, p.170
Included in Q Magazine's Best Gothic Albums Of All Time - " remains the definitive statement: a taut, unsettling canvas rich with vampiric imagery...and the dungeonly baritone of Maxell advert's Pete Murphy."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.91
5 stars out of 5 -- "Musically, this is a timeless statement of dark, magnificent metal prowess and clarity."


  • 1.Dark Entries
  • 2.Double Dare
  • 3.In The Flat Field
  • 4.God In An Alcove
  • 5.Dive
  • 6.Spy In The Cab
  • 7.Small Talk Stinks
  • 8.St. Vitus Dance
  • 9.Stigmata Martyr
  • 10.Nerves
  • 11.Telegram Sam
  • 12.Rosegarden Funeral Of Sores
  • 13.Terror Couple Kill Colonel
  • 14.Scopes
  • 15.Untitled
  • 16.God In An Alcove
  • 17.Crowds
  • 18.Untitled

Product Description:

Bauhaus: Kevin Haskins, David Jay, Peter Murphy, Daniel Ash.
Recording information: B.B.C. Maidavale Studios; Southern Studios, London, England.
Photographer: Duane Michals.
In 1980, after almost single-handedly inventing the "Goth" genre with their debut single, "Bela Lugosi's Dead," Bauhaus recorded IN THE FLAT FIELD for England's influential 4AD label. This CD retains the rather original album's rather daring cover art (a nude male figure) but adds eight tracks from early singles (though not "Bela…," unfortunately) to the 4AD issue's nine. IN THE FLAT FIELD is classic and influential, a deadly combination.
Though Bauhaus may be labeled as "Goth," the pealing feedback that opens the disc ("Dark Entries") and the anguished howl in the first line of "Double Dare" ("I dare you to be real!") prove that they arrive with the same punk rock pedigree as many of their contemporaries. Peter Murphy's vocals very nearly dominate the proceedings. By turns, he declaims, wails, and sings-even speaking in tongues on "Stigmata Martyr." His lyrics draw from popular culture, from Greek mythology, and from everything in between. The rhythm section of brothers David Jay (bass) and Kevin Haskins (drums) provides a flexible but extremely forceful backbone to Daniel Ash's squalling, often distorted, guitar sound. Make no mistake. This is a rock record-and one of the best, at that.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 126,063
  • UPC: 652637001327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)