Arrested Development Zingalamaduni

Spin: "...The sonics here are fun, straight up if oddly static..."
Get email alerts for Arrested Development
9 ratings
List Price: $5.98
You Save: $3 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
14 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZSM 2055
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 19, 2017
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Chrysalis

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 6/30/94, p.71
4 Stars - Excellent - "...All hip-hop makes a priority of the spoken word, but Arrested Development connect rap's up-to-the-minute urban mode to the classical rural style of the blues tradition...these are indeed the children of Sly Stone and Gil Scott-Heron...ecstatically combine group dynamics and rebel spirit..."
Spin - 7/94, p.67
"...The sonics here are fun, straight up if oddly static..."


  • 1.WMFW (We Must Fight and Win) FM
  • 2.United Minds
  • 3.Ache'n for Acres
  • 4.United Front
  • 5.Africa's Inside Me
  • 6.Pride
  • 7.Shell
  • 8.Mr. Landlord
  • 9.Warm Sentiments
  • 10.The Drum
  • 11.In the Sunshine
  • 12.Kneelin' at My Altar
  • 13.Fountain of Youth
  • 14.Ease My Mind
  • 15.Praisin' U

Product Description:

Arrested Development: Nadirah Shakoor (vocals, percussion); Speech (vocals, DJ); Rasa Don (drums, percussion, background vocals); Headliner (percussion, DJ, background vocals); Baba OJE (percussion, background vocals); Kwesi "DJ Kemit" Asuo (DJ, background vocals); Ajile, Montsho Eshe, Aerle Taree (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Fulani Faluke (vocals); Brother Larry Eaglin Jackson (guitar); DJ Brooks (drums); Jason Thompson, Freddy Luster.
"Ease My Mind" was nominated for Best Rap Performance By A Duo Or Group in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
Personnel: Nadirah Shakoor (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Speech (vocals, turntables, background vocals); Larry Eaglin Jackson (guitar); Don Rasa (drums, percussion, background vocals); D.J. Brooks (drums); Headliner (percussion, turntables, dancer, background vocals); Baba Oje (percussion, background vocals); Montsho Eshe (dancer, background vocals); Aerle Taree, Dan Ajile, Kwesi Asuo (background vocals).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Speech ; Fulani Faluke; Freddy Luster; Jason Thompson.
On their sophomore effort ZINGALAMADUNI, Arrested Development move ever so closer to clarifying the concepts and ideals of their Pan-African roots into a modern ideology. Using a mythical radio station called WMFW-FM (loosely based on Paliament's "We Funk Radio" as well as the community radio station of Spike Lee's DO THE RIGHT THING, and which stands for "we must fight and win") as a soapbox for his pronouncements, AD leader/vocalist Speech launches consistent lyrical attacks on the state of black urban society, preaching an idealistic "one love" philosophy. Yet, while these jams are rhythmically funky, and correct both historically and politically, they strike too general a chord to be triumphant anthems for such agitated times. It is when Arrested Development narrow their topical focus--as they do on the scintillating "Mister Landlord," and on the spiritually-advanced "Ease My Mind"--and bring their endless cascade of sweet-voiced vocalists into the spotlight, that ZINGALAMADUNI lives up to the "new age of hip-hop" promise served up by the group's debut.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 16,184
  • UPC: 724382927426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)