The Platters Ballads Of the Platters

Ballads Of the Platters
Get email alerts for The Platters
Sale: $23.39
WINTER SALE: $21.75 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.99
You Save: $4.24 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  R3EG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 26, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Bear Family Records


  • 1.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 2.Only You (And You Alone)
  • 3.I'll Cry When You're Gone
  • 4.I Need You All The Time
  • 5.Tell The World
  • 6.Why Should I
  • 7.The Great Pretender
  • 8.I'm Just A Dancing Partner
  • 9.(You've Got) The Magic Touch
  • 10.Winner Take All
  • 11.My Prayer
  • 12.Heaven On Earth
  • 13.You'll Never, Never Know
  • 14.It Isn't Right
  • 15.On My Word Of Honor
  • 16.One In A Million
  • 17.I'm Sorry
  • 18.Glory Of Love
  • 19.Remember When
  • 20.In The Still Of The Night
  • 21.My Dream
  • 22.Only Because
  • 23.The Mystery Of You
  • 24.Helpless
  • 25.Twilight Time (LP Version)
  • 26.You're Making A Mistake
  • 27.I Wish
  • 28.No Matter What You Are
  • 29.Enchanted
  • 30.My Secret
  • 31.Harbor Lights
  • 32.To Each His Own
  • 33.I'll Never Smile Again

Product Description:

If the Platters are associated with anything, it's creamy romantic ballads. Bear Family's 2013 compilation The Ballads of the Platters collects 33 of those ballads, including all of their major hits: "Only You (And You Alone)," "You'll Never Never Know," "The Great Pretender," "My Prayer," "(You've Got) The Magic Touch," "Twilight Time," "I'm Sorry," "Enchanted," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," and "Harbor Lights." This accounts for almost all of the group's standards -- for comparison's sake, Rhino's 1998 Enchanted: The Best of the Platters, ran 20 tracks, and The Ballads contains all but four of those songs -- and the lesser-known tunes here, while not transcendent like those aforementioned hits, carry through with a similar sound and feel, making this a sweet, dreamy collection of the Platters' peak that effectively functions as a greatest-hits collection for the group. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,645
  • UPC: 5397102173264
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)