Diamanda Galás La Serpenta Canta (Live) (2-CD)

La Serpenta Canta (Live) (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Diamanda Galás
8 ratings
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  QJ52
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 27, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Mute U.S.

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - p.162
"She sings the blues till they turn as black as a cancerous lung. Ditto for country, jazz, Motown and R&B songs, to which Galas adds stark piano embellishments..." - 4 out of 5
CMJ - p.7
"LA SERPENTA CANTA shows ever-histrionic avant-screecher Diamanda Galas taking a solo voice-and-piano turn, reconstructing modern American standards."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down
  • 3.Burning Hell
  • 4.Baby's Insane
  • 5.I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  • 6.Lonely Woman
  • 7.Frenzy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Blue Spirit Blues
  • 2.My World Is Empty Without You
  • 3.I Put a Spell on You
  • 4.At the Dark End of the Street
  • 5.Dancing in the Dark
  • 6.Dead Cat on the Line
  • 7.See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  • 8.Burning Hell - (reprise)

Product Description:

Personnel: Diamanda Gal s (vocals, piano).
Blues is a scary form of music. The authentic blues relies on the turmoil of strong, often shameful emotions. Bluesmen like John Lee Hooker and Screamin' Jay Hawkins could sing in a very scary voice that sent shivers down your spine. So can Diamanda Gal s. In fact, she's the scariest of them all. Then again, she's not a blues singer. Or isn't she? Her fantastic vocal range and powerful lungs are certainly more opera than roots, but her gothic looks and her topics of choice (despair and redemption) put her much closer to the Blues (with a capital B) than one could suspect at first. And when she dives into "Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down" or Hooker's "Burning Hell," she is one of the greatest blueswomen who ever lived. But what she does to the blues is unique, and makes La Serpenta Canta a unique album. Recorded live, mostly in 2001-2002, it features the dark dame alone at the piano (her soundman Blaise Dupuy occasionally adds effects in her piano or microphone). She reinvents from top to bottom a cross section of songs about people hurting. It's not all blues; there's some country in there, some jazz, even a bit of Motown (the Supremes' "My World Is Empty Without You," the strength of which is unbelievable). She slipped in one original, "Baby's Insane," which first appeared on her collaboration with John Paul Jones, The Sporting Life. But it's all about hurt. Her voice shreds your soul into pieces and each piano chord throws a dagger through your heart. The quality of her interpretations is staggering; each song -- from Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" to Hawkins' "I Put a Spell on You" and the standard "See That My Grave Is Kept Clean" -- sounds like it was tailored to her voice. The only downside is the duration: 80 minutes is short for a double album. By cutting a few seconds of applause here and there, it could have been scaled down to a single disc. Then again, the pause between the two 40-minute sets is beneficial. Along with The Sporting Life, this is one of her most accessible releases. And so fine it hurts. ~ Fran‡ois Couture

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 724596925522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)