Norman Greenbaum The Best of Norman Greenbaum: Spirit in the Sky

The Best of Norman Greenbaum: Spirit in the Sky
Get email alerts for Norman Greenbaum
22 ratings
Price: $12.70
You Save: $0.28 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
13 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  F527
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 24, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Varese Fontana


  • 1.Spirit in the Sky
  • 2.Weird
  • 3.Daddy I Know
  • 4.Hook and Ladder
  • 5.Skyline
  • 6.Canned Ham
  • 7.Marcy
  • 8.California Earthquake
  • 9.The Day the Well Went Dry
  • 10.Damper
  • 11.Petaluma
  • 12.The Eggplant That Ate Chicago
  • 13.Back Home Again
  • 14.Day They Sold Beer in Church, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Gondoliers, Shakespeares, Overseers, Playboys and Bums

Product Description:

All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Audio Remasterer: Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Wayne Jancik.
Photographer: Henry Diltz.
"Spirit in the Sky" was a classic one-shot hit: an unforgettable fuzz guitar riff, those eerie descending glissando psychedelic guitar effects, a soulful female backup chorus, and a rare gospel-rock song that explored a religious theme without sounding dogmatic or sappy. Greenbaum had more depth than the usual one-shot artist, but the fact is that he never came up with anything else remotely on the level of "Spirit in the Sky," as this 15-song anthology demonstrates. He was a witty, droll songwriter with slightly absurd tunes that didn't quite descend into novelty, as on "Canned Ham" and "The Day the Well Went Dry." Selections from his early-'70s Reprise albums comprise most of half of this disc, and they're amiable, mildly humorous good-time rock that isn't even as penetrating as the rawer and goofier stuff he did before his solo career as the leader of Dr. West's Medicine Show & Junk Band. Four Dr. West songs are on this CD, including the minor 1966 hit "The Eggplant That Ate Chicago," as well as a previously unreleased 1977 recording, "The Day They Sold Beer in Church." ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 17,585
  • UPC: 030206566826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)