Anvil Anthology of Anvil

Anthology of Anvil
Get email alerts for Anvil
4 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  F4WG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 14, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: The End Records


  • 1.Metal On Metal
  • 2.Smokin' Green
  • 3.Winged Assassins
  • 4.Free As The Wind
  • 5.Old School
  • 6.Bushpig
  • 7.Blood On The Ice
  • 8.March Of The Crabs
  • 9.Jackhammer
  • 10.Speed Of Sound
  • 11.666
  • 12.Stolen
  • 13.Paper General
  • 14.Forged In Fire
  • 15.School Love
  • 16.Motormount
  • 17.Dr. Kevorkian
  • 18.Mothra

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Lips ; Martin Popoff.
Often referred to as Canada's answer to Mot”rhead, Anvil's lengthy career (20 years and counting) can hardly be deemed anywhere near as influential or consistently excellent as that of Lemmy and company; indeed, this would be a tall order for just about any heavy metal band on the planet. And yet, like Mot”rhead, Anvil have always stuck to their guns with commendable stubbornness, and, in the process, outlasted hundreds of supposedly superior competitors with their deceptively simple, ever-frenetic style of thrash metal. Perpetually anchored front and back by the dynamic duo of vocalist/guitarist Steve "Lips" Kudlow and drummer extraordinaire Robb Reiner, Anvil have also endured their fair share of hardships, and it's no small wonder that Anthology of Anvil manages to sample at least one song from each of the nine studio albums (and one live set) leading up to its release. Admittedly, this completist-appeasing strategy is instantly challenged by the fact that the group's first three albums of seminal proto-thrash provide ten out of the 18 tracks collected here ("Metal on Metal," "Free as the Wind," "Jackhammer," "Mothra," and many more), leaving the remaining six LPs to fight over the remaining scraps with one or two submissions apiece ("Smokin' Green," "Bushpig," "Blood on Ice," etc.). But, in the absence of another viable option (1985's Backwaxed collection concentrated on rarities and leftovers), first-time visitors looking to sample as complete a cross section of Anvil's output as possible can do no better than this fun, raucous album. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 654436027720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)