Pete Rock Soul Survivor

Vibe: "...Pete has reassumed his position as track master by employing a more versatile approach to his production and some of the freshest MCs around..."
Get email alerts for Pete Rock
46 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $5.01 (50% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSM 1200
Brand New

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Released: November 10, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Muzik - 12/98, p.69
3 stars out of 5 - "...there are so many guest stars on this album...that you almost forget whose project this blimmin' well is....the warm, almost archaic jazzy funk undertow that bears the indelible Pete Rock stamp is always there..."
Vibe - 12/98, 1/99, p.197
"...Pete has reassumed his position as track master by employing a more versatile approach to his production and some of the freshest MCs around..."
The Source - 12/98, p.208
3.5 Mics (out of 5) - "...his production on SOUL SURVIVOR outpaces his MCin' by kilometers....Pete relies on his own mic-dabbling a lot less than he does on his true craft..."


  • 1.Soul Survivor (Intro)
  • 2.Tru Master
  • 3.Half Man Half Amazin
  • 4.Respect Mine
  • 5.Tha Game
  • 6.#1 Soul Brother
  • 7.Rock Steady, Pt. 2
  • 8.Truly Yours '98
  • 9.It's About That Time
  • 10.One Life to Live
  • 11.Take Your Time
  • 12.Mind Blowin'
  • 13.Soul Survivor
  • 14.Two, Da
  • 15.Verbal Murder 2
  • 16.Strange Fruit
  • 17.Massive (Hold Tight)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Pete Rock, Method Man, Noreaga, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Cappadonna, Lord Tariq, Peter Gunz, Heavy D., Beenie Man, CL Smooth, Big Punisher, Inspectah Deck, Kurupt, Large Professor, Kool G. Rap, Black Thought, Rob O, OC, Prodigy, MC Eiht, Carl McIntosh, Jane Eugene, Vinia Mojica, Ms. Jones, Common A.K.A. Willie Stargell, Tragedy Khadafi, Sticky Fingaz (rap vocals).
Engineers include: Jamey Straub, Ken Lewis, Prince Strickland.
Audio Mixers: Prince Strickland; Jamey Staub; Ken Lewis .
Recording information: Battery Studios; Blue Palm Studios; Green Street Recordings, New York, NY; Greene Street Recordings; Saltmine Recordings.
After much anticipation, famed producer Pete Rock finally released his solo debut SOUL SURVIVOR. The man behind some of the '90s hottest samples Pete assembles a crew of MC's that reads like a who's who in hip-hop. "Tru Master," featuring Inspectah Deck and Kurupt, "Half Man Half Amazin'," where Method Man kicks a mad flow and "Respect Mine," where OC drops science, all pump with a ferocious energy.
Other notable guest spots come from Raekwon, Prodigy & Ghostface Killah ("The Game"), Lord Tariq and Peter Gunz ("Rock Steady") and Big Punisher, Noreaga and Common ("Verbal Murder 2"). Pete himself rips vocals on tracks here and there, especially in the choruses, but check for his laid back flow on "Soul Brother #1." Packed with non-stop flavor from track one, SOUL SURVIVOR shows that Rock can not only lace the beats, but put the finishing touches of brilliance on a solo project. Sure to get plenty of play in the jeeps, SOUL SURVIVOR will have a long life.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 078636761626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)