The Beat The Complete Beat (5-CD Box Set)

The Complete Beat (5-CD Box Set)
Get email alerts for The Beat
8 ratings
Sale: $44.98
WINTER SALE: $38.65 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $11.33 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  KJHJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: July 10, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.103
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[With] a slew of live recordings in which the Beat unleash their dance-floor fury and their Thatcher-era protest politics."
Billboard (p.28) - "Listening to the band's blend of brainy lyrics, seductive Caribbean rhythms and sharp-shooting songcraft, there's nary a misstep in the act's entire repertoire..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Mirror in the Bathroom
  • 2.Hands Off...She's Mine
  • 3.Two Swords
  • 4.Twist & Crawl
  • 5.Tears of a Clown
  • 6.Rough Rider
  • 7.Click Click
  • 8.Ranking Full Stop
  • 9.Big Shot
  • 10.Whine & Grine / Stand Down Margaret
  • 11.Noise in This World
  • 12.Can't Get Used to Losing You
  • 13.Best Friend
  • 14.Jackpot

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Too Nice to Talk
  • 2.Doors of Your Heart
  • 3.All Out to Get You
  • 4.Monkey Murders
  • 5.I Am Your Flag
  • 6.French Toast (Soleil Trop Chaud)
  • 7.Drowning
  • 8.Dream House in NZ
  • 9.Walk Away
  • 10.Over and Over
  • 11.Cheated
  • 12.Get-a-Job
  • 13.The Limits We Set
  • 14.Psychedelic Rockers
  • 15.Hit It
  • 16.Which Side of the Bed?

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Confess
  • 2.Jeanette
  • 3.Sorry
  • 4.Sole Salvation
  • 5.Spar wid Me
  • 6.Rotating Head
  • 7.Save It for Later
  • 8.She's Going
  • 9.Pato and Roger a Go Talk
  • 10.Sugar & Stress
  • 11.End of the Party
  • 12.Ackee 1 2 3
  • 13.What's Your Best Thing
  • 14.March of the Swivel Heads
  • 15.Cool Entertainer
  • 16.Go Talk [Tappy Luppy Dub], A - (remix)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Hands Off...She's Mine [Extended]
  • 2.Twist & Crawl [Extended]
  • 3.Stand Down Margaret [Dub] - (remix)
  • 4.Too Nice to Talk To [Dubweiser] - (remix)
  • 5.Psychedelic Rockers [Dubweiser] - (remix)
  • 6.Doors of Your Heart [Extended]
  • 7.Drowning [Dub] - (remix)
  • 8.Hit It [Extended]
  • 9.Which Side of the Bed? [Extended]
  • 10.Save It for Later [Extended]
  • 11.What's Your Best Thing [Dub] - (remix)
  • 12.Cool Entertainer [Extended]
  • 13.Jeanette [Extended]
  • 14.March of the Swivel Heads [Extended]
  • 15.I Confess [Dave Allen Remix] - (remix)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Tears of a Clown [Peel Sessions]
  • 2.Ranking Full Stop [Peel Sessions]
  • 3.Click Click [Peel Sessions]
  • 4.Mirror in the Bathroom [Peel Sessions]
  • 5.Big Shot [Peel Sessions]
  • 6.Too Nice to Talk To [Peel Sessions]
  • 7.Psychedelic Rockers [Peel Sessions]
  • 8.Monkey Murders [Peel Sessions]
  • 9.Walk Away [Peel Sessions]
  • 10.Spar Wid Me [Peel Sessions]
  • 11.End of the Party [Peel Sessions]
  • 12.She's Going [Peel Sessions]
  • 13.Save It for Later [Peel Sessions]
  • 14.Sole Salvation [Peel Sessions]
  • 15.Pato and Roger a Go Talk [Peel Sessions]
  • 16.Best Friend [Peel Sessions]
  • 17.Tears of a Clown [Peel Sessions]
  • 18.Twist & Crawl [Peel Sessions]
  • 19.Get-a-Job / Stand Down Margaret [Peel Sessions]

Product Description:

Personnel: Dave Wakeling (vocals, guitar); Ranking Roger (vocals, percussion); Andy Cox (guitar, mandolin); David Steele (banjo); Wesley Magoogan (clarinet, saxophone, lyricon); Dave Blockhead (saxophone, piano, keyboards); Dave Lord, Saltin, Steve Sidwell (trumpet); Blockhead (keyboards); Bob Sargeant (marimba); Everett Morton (drums); M. Mishra (tabla); Mark Fox (percussion).
Audio Remasterers: Phil Kinrade; Bob Fisher .
Liner Note Author: Alex Ogg.
Photographers: Adrian Boot; Bruce Fleming.
Shout! Factory's The Complete Beat is the kind of deluxe set that fans would dream about but never expect to happen: a five-disc set containing expanded remastered versions of all three of the group's albums, plus two discs of Bonus Beat -- a CD of 12" mixes and dubs, a disc of Peel Sessions and four cuts live from a November 1982 gig in Boston. The Beat -- the "English" was added for the American market -- were only around for five short years, following the 2-Tone path trailblazed by the Specials but speedily developing their own distinctive style, one that was a bit brighter and bearing a stronger Motown influence. Also, the Beat had a knack for pop that culminated on their 1982 swan song, Special Beat Service. That contained their signature hit, "Save It for Later," a contender for a perfect single if there ever were one, but it also opened with the sparkling "I Confess," a gorgeous confection that pointed the way toward Dave Wakeling's subsequent outfit General Public. But unlike Madness, there never was a time when the Beat's main business was pop: they always had one foot firmly planted in ska and blue beat, always could hunker down and dig deep into the groove. This powers I Just Can't Stop It, a ska revival record that rivals the Specials' debut, and it underpins their rapid expansion on Wha'ppen? Each of their albums has a distinctive character, something that carries through to the three Peel Sessions -- one delivered in support for each album -- on the Bonus Beat disc. As always, the extended mixes and dubs are something that appeals to a particular taste -- those who prefer the pop end of the Beat's equation won't find them compelling -- but their rangy, elastic reworkings underline the adventure and excitement at the core of the Beat. They grew up strong and they grew up fast, so fast that their recordings retain a visceral force that makes The Complete Beat something more than a dream come true for fans: it is a convincing argument for their greatness. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,438
  • UPC: 826663131765
  • Shipping Weight: 1.03/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)