Dinah Washington 50 Original Recordings (2-CD)

50 Original Recordings (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Dinah Washington
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $9.01 (60% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZSM 879
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 23, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Prism Leisure

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Mad About the Boy
  • 2.Stormy Weather
  • 3.Cold, Cold Heart
  • 4.Just One More Chance
  • 5.Harbor Lights
  • 6.If I Loved You
  • 7.Wheel of Fortune
  • 8.Mixed Emotions
  • 9.I'm Crying
  • 10.My Heart Cries for You
  • 11.I Apologize
  • 12.I'll Never Be Free
  • 13.Time out for Tears
  • 14.Only a Moment Ago
  • 15.Why Don't You Think Things Over?
  • 16.Trouble in Mind
  • 17.Tell Me Why
  • 18.Out in the Cold Again
  • 19.Hey, Good Looking
  • 20.Love (Me) With Misery
  • 21.Please Send Me Someone to Love
  • 22.It Isn't Fair
  • 23.Don't Say You're Sorry Again
  • 24.It's Funny
  • 25.Am I Really Sorry?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.(What Can I Say) After I Say I'm Sorry?
  • 2.Why Can't You Behave?
  • 3.Stairway to the Stars
  • 4.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 5.There's Got to Be a Change
  • 6.Embraceable You
  • 7.I Can't Get Started
  • 8.I Know How to Do It
  • 9.The Man I Love
  • 10.Since I Fell for You
  • 11.Long John Blues
  • 12.How Deep Is the Ocean?
  • 13.I Want to Be Loved
  • 14.You Didn't Want Me Then
  • 15.It's Too Soon to Know
  • 16.All or Nothing
  • 17.You Can Depend on Me
  • 18.I Want to Cry
  • 19.I Love You, Yes I Do
  • 20.I Sold My Heart to the Junkman
  • 21.I'll Wait
  • 22.I Can't Face the Music
  • 23.Don't Come Knocking at My Door
  • 24.Blow Top Blues
  • 25.Baby Get Lost

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dinah Washington.
Recorded between 1946 & 1952.
Liner Note Author: Michael Heatley.
Recording information: 1943-1952.
Though it doesn't stint on the number of songs, the Dinah Washington collection 50 Original Recordings on Prism lacks the context needed for such a long and famous career. This material dates from her period at Mercury during the 1940s and early '50s, an important time when Washington was testing her audience with a range of material: R&B standards (and some that would be), numbers from the growing American songbook, and a few novelty numbers from the recent charts. Thing was, Washington excelled at anything she put her mind to and, like Billie Holiday, made the best case for the existence of any song she sung; her version of "Wheel of Fortune" outdid Kay Starr's (who was no small jazz singer herself) and she even triumphed when asked to sing a version of Hank Williams' 1951 country smash "Cold, Cold Heart" (which crossed over surprisingly well). Whether singing ballads ("Stairway to the Stars," "Embraceable You") or a risqu‚ blues ("Long John Blues," her own composition), Washington made a song (temporarily) her own. So, the material is excellent, but lacking informative liner notes and other information (as well as above-average sound), this Prism collection isn't the best way to acquire it; consider either the exhaustive Complete 1943-1951 Mercury Master Takes on Jazz Factory or a shorter compilation like The Definitive Dinah Washington ~ John Bush

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014293224420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)