The Five Keys Collection 1951-58 (3-CD)

Get email alerts for The Five Keys
SALE: $15.98
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $4.01 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
item number:  ZACR 9097
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: July 24, 2020
  • Originally Released: 2020
  • Label: Acrobat

Description by

Doowop and R&B vocal group The Five Keys were often called "the group's group" because they were top class exponents among the doowop fraternity whose style and technique many other groups tried to emulate, and who were instrumental in shaping the genre during the early 1950s. Starting life as The Sentimental Four in Newport News, Virginia, they evolved to become The Five Keys, signing to Aladdin Records in 1951, and later moving to Capitol in 1954, with whom they stayed until 1958. This great-value 85-track 3-CD set comprises their A & B sides for both Aladdin and Capitol during these years, which encompassed their R&B and pop chart career, the repertoire ranging across both new compositions and imaginative interpretations of Great American Songbook standards. It also includes titles from their 1957 album "The Five Keys On Stage", which were not otherwise recorded as singles. It features all their career hits, including the R&B No. 1 "The Glory Of Love", and the Top 5 R&B hits "Ling Ling Tong" and "Close Your Eyes" plus the Top 20 hits "'Cause You're My Lover", "The Verdict", "Gee Whittakers" and "Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind". It's a comprehensive overview of the primary era of their career, when they enjoyed their greatest success and influence, and a fine showcase for the complex and sophisticated harmonies which made them such a definitive doowop group

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.With A Broken Heart
  • 2.Too Late
  • 3.The Glory Of Love
  • 4.Hucklebuck With Jimmy
  • 5.It's Christmas Time
  • 6.Yes Sir That's My Baby
  • 7.Old Mac Donald
  • 8.Darling
  • 9.Goin' Downtown
  • 10.Be Anything, But Be Mine
  • 11.Red Sails In The Sunset
  • 12.Mistakes
  • 13.How Long
  • 14.I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  • 15.Hold Me
  • 16.I Cried For You
  • 17.Serve Another Round
  • 18.Can't Keep From Crying
  • 19.Come Go My Bail, Louise
  • 20.Mama (Your Daughter Told A Lie On Me)
  • 21.There Ought To Be A Law (Against Breaking A Heart)
  • 22.I'll Always Be In Love With You
  • 23.Rocking And Crying Blues
  • 24.These Foolish Things
  • 25.Lonesome Old Story
  • 26.I'm So High

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Teardrops In Your Eyes
  • 2.Oh! Babe!
  • 3.My Saddest Hour
  • 4.Someday Sweetheart
  • 5.Love My Loving
  • 6.Deep In My Heart
  • 7.How Do You Expect Me To Get It
  • 8.My Love
  • 9.Why, Oh Why
  • 10.Story Of Love
  • 11.I'll Follow You
  • 12.Lawdy Miss Mary
  • 13.Ling, Ting, Tong
  • 14.I'm Alone
  • 15.Close Your Eyes
  • 16.Doggone It, You Did It
  • 17.The Verdict
  • 18.Me Make Um Pow Wow
  • 19.Don't You Know I Love You
  • 20.I Wish I'd Never Learned To Read
  • 21.Cause You're My Lover
  • 22.Gee Whittakers
  • 23.What Goes On
  • 24.You Broke The Rules Of Love
  • 25.I Dreamt I Dwelt In Heaven
  • 26.She's The Most
  • 27.Peace And Love
  • 28.My Pigeon's Gone

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
  • 2.That's Right
  • 3.Wisdom Of A Fool
  • 4.Now Don't That Prove I Love You
  • 5.Let There Be You
  • 6.Tiger Lily
  • 7.It's A Groove
  • 8.Four Walls
  • 9.The Blues Don't Care
  • 10.This I Promise You
  • 11.The Face Of An Angel
  • 12.Boom-Boom
  • 13.Do Anything
  • 14.It's A Cryin' Shame
  • 15.From Me To You
  • 16.Whippety Whirl
  • 17.With All My Love
  • 18.You're For Me
  • 19.Handy Andy
  • 20.Emily Please
  • 21.One Great Love
  • 22.Really-O Truly-O
  • 23.Just For The Thrill
  • 24.Who Do You Know In Heaven (That Made You The Angel You Are')
  • 25.To Each His Own
  • 26.Maybe You'll Be There
  • 27.The Gypsy
  • 28.From The Bottom Of My Heart
  • 29.C'est La Vie
  • 30.Dream
  • 31.All I Need Is You
Acrobat Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,224
  • UPC: 824046909727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)