Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson Bald Headed Blues

Bald Headed Blues
Get email alerts for Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  F4EK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Ace Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 6/03, p.114
"...The jump blues is the gold and it's all here: the smoky late '40s arrangements featuring Wynton Kelly's fine piano and Vinson's ruggedly swinging alto; his best novelty lyrics and shouting..."


  • 1.Ashes on My Pillow
  • 2.I'm Gonna Wind Your Clock
  • 3.Wineola
  • 4.Somebody Done Stole My Cherry Red
  • 5.Eddie's Bounce
  • 6.I'm Weak But Willing
  • 7.Sittin' on It All the Time
  • 8.Featherbed Mama
  • 9.No Good Woman Blues
  • 10.Bald Headed Blues
  • 11.I Trusted You Baby (But You Double Crossed Me)
  • 12.Peas and Rice
  • 13.Big Mouth Gal
  • 14.My Big Brass Bed Is Gone
  • 15.Queen Bee Blues
  • 16.If You Don't Think I'm Sinking
  • 17.Jump and Grunt
  • 18.Rainy Mornin' Blues
  • 19.Home Boy
  • 20.People on My Party Line
  • 21.Time After Time
  • 22.Lonesome Train
  • 23.Person to Person [Alternate Take]
  • 24.I Need You (Tonight)
  • 25.Good Bread Alley
  • 26.Person to Person

Product Description:

This 26 track compilation contains the complete King recordings.
Recorded between 1949 and 1952.
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Subtitled "His Complete King Recordings 1949-52," Bald Headed Blues has a couple dozen sides Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson cut for the King label, two of them ("Sittin' on It All the Time" and an alternate take of "Person to Person") previously unreleased. Vinson had peaked commercially just before going to King, with just one of these tracks, "Somebody Done Stole My Cherry Red," becoming an R&B hit. As an artist Vinson was still at the top of his game, though, coming about as close as any artist did to hitting the midway point between big-band jazz and early R&B. Vocally he distinguished himself by a sort of strangled, good-natured high squeal at the end of many of his phrases, a tic that gets a little overdone when so many of these sides follow each other at once on CD. A little variety to the menu is heard in the straight, smooth instrumental bop of "Eddie's Bounce" and the balladeering on the standard "Time After Time." Some of these lyrics get ribald even by the usual R&B measures of double entendre, like "Bald Headed Blues" ("just ask anybody, I've got fine jelly roll") and "Good Bread Alley" ("we have no trouble with our women, 'cause there ain't no pimps around"). ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667187725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)