COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Kenny Dorham Whistle Stop: Two Original Albums (Whistle Stop / Quiet Kenny) (2-CD)

Record Collector (magazine): 5 stars out of 5 -- "Playing a range of quality, self-penned tracks, this dynamic set, which keeps the beat alive and maintains the energy throughout, features a superb line-up..."
Get email alerts for Kenny Dorham
MASSIVE CD SALE: $7.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $6 (43% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZNOT 455
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 4, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Not Now Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.101
5 stars out of 5 -- "Playing a range of quality, self-penned tracks, this dynamic set, which keeps the beat alive and maintains the energy throughout, features a superb line-up..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1. Philly Twist
  • 2. Buffalo
  • 3. Sunset
  • 4. Whistle Stop
  • 5. Sunrise In Mexico
  • 6. Windmill
  • 7. Dorham’s Epitaph

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1. Lotus Blossom
  • 2. My Ideal
  • 3. Blue Friday
  • 4. Alone Together
  • 5. Blue Spring Shuffle
  • 6. I Had The Craziest Dream
  • 7. Old Folks

Product Description:

Personnel: Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Kenny Drew (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); Philly Joe Jones (drums).
Producer: Alfred Lion.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on January 15, 1961. Originally released on Blue Note (4063). Includes liner notes by Ira Gitler.
This is part of Blue Note's Limited Edition Connoisseur series.
Kenny Dorham's best Blue Note date, and arguably the best of his career, is the exceptional WHISTLE STOP. Although he never received the same recognition as trumpeters like Miles Davis or Lee Morgan, Dorham was a stellar talent. This session crystallizes all of Dorham's skill as a soloist, leader, and composer, as all selections are originals. The trumpeter's frequent partner Joe Henderson is replaced here with the equally talented Hank Mobley along with pianist Kenny Drew and the legendary rhythm team of Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones. These ingredients form a magical combination that defines the golden age of hard bop.
The group blows strong from the outset with the bluesy "Philly Twist," a tribute to and feature for the legendary drummer. Dorham reflects many influences in his writing and playing, from the hushed rhumba of "Sunset," to the bebop-flavored title track. His penchant for elaborate arrangements is evident in the programmatic "Sunrise in Mexico," easily the set's most intricate cut. Dorham's "talking" trumpet style shines throughout the date and is a fine counter to Mobley's swinging tenor wails. The final cut, "Dorham's Epitaph," is a brief vignette that offers a glimpse of the trumpeter's aspirations to even grander musical heights.
Import CDs from Not Now and One Day Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,302
  • UPC: 5060143494550
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)