The Belmonts The Laurie, Sabina & United Artists Sides, Volume 1

The Laurie, Sabina & United Artists Sides, Volume
Get email alerts for The Belmonts
3 ratings
Price: $18.88
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XCJR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Come On Little Angel
  • 2.Tell Me Why
  • 3.Smoke From Your Cigarette
  • 4.That Background Sound
  • 5.How About Me?
  • 6.My Love Is Real
  • 7.Searching For A New Love
  • 8.I Don't Know How To Cry
  • 9.I Need Someone
  • 10.Hombre
  • 11.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 12.Why
  • 13.More Important Things To Do, (I've Got)
  • 14.Have You Heard
  • 15.Dancin' Girl
  • 16.Time to Dream
  • 17.Not Responsible
  • 18.Now It's All Over
  • 19.Walk On Boy
  • 20.Summertime Time
  • 21.I Confess
  • 22.Diddle-Dee-Dum (What Happens When Your Love Has Gone)
  • 23.Ann-Marie
  • 24.Come Take A Walk With Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 25.Such A Long Way
  • 26.We Belong Together
  • 27.I Don't Know Why, I Just Do
  • 28.I Got A Feeling
  • 29.Today My Love Has Gone Away
  • 30.You're Like A Mystery

Product Description:

Adapter: George David Weiss.
In their Dion-less career, the Belmonts were in an awkward place. The vocal-group doo wop they had sung with Dion was going out of style, and they tried on various approaches for size without getting much success with any of them. For all that, they were more successful than most 1960s doo wop acts, and this 30-track compilation of material from 1961-66 has all half-dozen of their charting records, including their biggest and best, "Tell Me Why." At times, unfortunately, it is obvious that they're trying to imitate the stuff Dion was having solo success with at the time, as on "Come on Little Angel." The rest of the disc is inconsistent, and widely variable stylistically. "I Don't Know How to Cry" tries for an uptown New York R&B-pop sound; others are traditional slow doo-wop ballads; "Have You Heard" is a midtempo ballad in the style of the Duprees; "Ann-Marie" is Beach Boys-influenced; "I Got a Feeling" is a Jay & the Americans cop; etc. There are occasional above-average tunes like the group original "I Confess," but most of the cuts are mediocre. Includes some previously unissued material, and three tracks they participated in as the backup group to Buddy Sheppard (billed as the Holidays). ~ Richie Unterberger

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667158022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)