Heart of Southern Soul: From Nashville to Memphis and Muscle Shoals
by Various Artists

Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.39 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ADGD
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records Uk


  • 1.Falling In Love Again - Kelly Brothers
  • 2.Line Between Love And Hate - Wallace Brothers
  • 3.That's All I Can Do - Kip Anderson
  • 4.Snake Out Of Green Grass - Roshell Anderson (Pt.1)
  • 5.Snake Out Of Green Grass - Roshell Anderson (Pt.2)
  • 6.Soldier's Sad Story, A - Tiny Watkins
  • 7.Pretty Little Thing - The Interpreters
  • 8.Your Love Is Worth the Pain - Johnny Truitt
  • 9.Talk To Me - The Avons
  • 10.Your Love's So Good - Lee Webber
  • 11.Somewhere Out There - Lucille Matthis
  • 12.Mr. Fortune Teller - Dee & Don (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Midnite Tears - Tiny Watkins (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Woman In Me, The - Mariann
  • 15.Steppin' Stone - Wallace Brothers
  • 16.Gonna Need Somebody - Stacy Lane (previously unreleased)
  • 17.I Went Off And Cried - Kip Anderson
  • 18.You're That Great Big Feelin' - Kelly Brothers
  • 19.You'll Never Ever Know - Shirley Brown (previously unreleased)
  • 20.C.C. Rider - Bobby Powell
  • 21.Price Is Too High, The - Slim Harpo
  • 22.There Goes a Girl - Johnny Truitt (alternate take)
  • 23.Do Your Thing - Marva Whitney (previously unreleased)
  • 24.Power Is Gone, The - Eugene Kemp

Product Description:

Nashville's Excello label recorded pure Southern soul -- the good stuff, authentic, rootsy, passionately executed dramas and proclamations that touch the heart and soul. This is drinking and moaning music, the perfect company for love's pains or joys. Kip Anderson's "I Went Off and Cried," Tiny Watkins' "A Soldier's Sad Story," and Johnny Truitt's "Your Love Is Worth the Pain," are the real deals. Even on the happy tunes the underlying strain of maintaining a relationship is evident. The 24-tracks include selections by the Wallace Brothers, Marva Whitney, the Kelly Brothers, the Interpreters, and Dee & Don. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,109
  • UPC: 029667156820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)