Charlie Daniels Live at Rockpalast

Get email alerts for Charlie Daniels
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  DVD
item number:  XCCJ
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

DVD Details

  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Run Time: 1 hours, 16 minutes
  • Video: Color
  • Encoding: Region 1 (USA & Canada)
  • Released: June 19, 2012
  • Originally Released: 1980
  • Label: Made in Germany

Entertainment Reviews:

Description by

Charlie was born in 1936 in North Carolina which he left for Nashville, Tennessee, at the end of the 1960s. There he worked as a session musician and played on several Bob Dylan albums and some recordings by Leonhard Cohen. In 1970 he released his debut solo album, entitled Charlie Daniels. His first Charlie Daniels Band album Honey in the Rock followed in 1972. This excellent piece of work already indicated the musical direction the band would take in the following years: southern rock with distinct borrowings from country music. Charlie Daniels' Rockpalast concert at Westfalenhalle, now released the first time on DVD and CD, opens with one of this album's songs, "Funky Junky", a sweeping and swinging song which wins the audience over right away. It's not the big pose that counts but ‚Äěhonest" handmade music, staged in an unspectacular way, yet performed in a spectacular manner. The quality of this live recording is superb considering the conditions of that time. Especially the sound is outstanding. TV sound engineers usually know how to do their job; that also goes for the WDR sound engineers. This is why it is an entertaining feast for the ears to experience Charlie Daniels Band's one-and-a-half hour show which ends with a fiery nearly ten minute version of the country classic "Orange Blossom Special".


  • 1.Funky Junky
  • 2.Trudy
  • 3.Jitterbug
  • 4.Legend Of Wooley Swamp
  • 5.Blindman
  • 6.Reflections
  • 7.El Toreador
  • 8.No Potion For The Pain
  • 9.In America
  • 10.Long Haired Country Boy
  • 11.Uneasy Rider
  • 12.Cumberland Mountain Nr.9
  • 13.Devil Went Down To Georgia
  • 14.The South's Gonna Do It Again
  • 15.Orange Blossom Special


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 111,055
  • UPC: 885513904676
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)