Johnny Otis Creepin' with the Cats: The Legendary Dig Masters, Volume 1

Creepin' with the Cats: The Legendary Dig
Get email alerts for Johnny Otis
4 ratings
WINTER SALE: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  XC99
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 20, 1993
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Midnight Creeper Part 1
  • 2.Driftin' Blues
  • 3.Ali Baba's Boogie
  • 4.Let the Sunshine in My Life (Once More)
  • 5.Hey! Hey! Hey! Hey!
  • 6.Dog Face Boy Part 1
  • 7.Dog Face Boy Part 2
  • 8.Show Me the Way to Go Home
  • 9.Sleepy Shines Butt Shuffle
  • 10.Organ Grinder's Swing
  • 11.Someday
  • 12.Sadie
  • 13.Butterball
  • 14.WA-WA Part 1
  • 15.My Eyes Are Full of Tears
  • 16.Turtle Dove
  • 17.Groove Juice
  • 18.Trouble on My Mind
  • 19.Number 69 / Number 21
  • 20.The Creeper Returns
  • 21.Stop, Look and Love Me
  • 22.Night Is Young, The (And You're So Fine)

Product Description:

Recorded in 1956 and 1957.
Contains 22 tracks, including 10 previously unreleased.
In the mid-1950s, drummer/bandleader/all-around musical Renaissance man Johnny Otis formed his own label, Dig, and recorded numerous sides during '56 and '57, just before signing a lucrative deal with Capitol. During these sessions, from which these 22 tracks are taken, Otis begins to hone his jump blues/rock &roll/R&B sound into an aesthetic that would reach full fruition on the later hit "Willie and the Hand Jive." Highlights of this era include the raucous "Midnight Creeper Part 1," the rollicking "Hey! Hey! Hey! Hey!," (both of which feature Otis's formidable horn section) and the woe-is-me tale "My Eyes Are Full of Tears." Almost half of these tunes are previously unreleased, making this disc of particular interest to diehard Otis fans and aficionados of the mid-'50s in general. Although CREEPIN' WITH THE CATS lacks "Willie and the Hand Jive," it perfectly sets the stage for that subsequent smash, which can be found on the equally excellent CAPITOL YEARS compilation.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667132527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)