Kevin Ayers Joy of a Toy

Joy of a Toy
Get email alerts for Kevin Ayers
5 ratings
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.16 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 9 copies left
sku:  EV74
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/30/03, p.92
4 stars out of 5 - "...[A] feast of bent-pop frolic and ravishing balladry..."


  • 1.Joy of a Toy Continued
  • 2.Town Feeling
  • 3.The Clarietta Rag
  • 4.Girl on a Swing
  • 5.Song for Insane Times
  • 6.Stop This Train (Again Doing It)
  • 7.Eleanor's Cake (Which Ate Her)
  • 8.The Lady Rachel
  • 9.Oleh Oleh Bandu Bandong
  • 10.All This Crazy Gift of Time
  • 11.Religious Experience (Singing a Song in the Morning)
  • 12.The Lady Rachel - (Extended First Mix)
  • 13.Soon Soon Soon
  • 14.Religious Experience (Singing a Song in the Morning)
  • 15.The Lady Rachel
  • 16.Singing a Song in the Morning

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Kevin Ayers (vocals); Paul Buckmaster (cello); Paul Minns (oboe); David Bedford (piano); Mike Ratledge (keyboards); Hugh Hopper, Jeff Clyne (bass); Robert Wyatt, Rob Tait (drums); Jean, Mary, Cyrille Ayers, Sean Murphy (background vocals).
CD contains 6 bonus tracks.
Personnel: Kevin Ayers (vocals, guitar); Robert Wyatt (vocals, drums); Sean Murphy (vocals); Paul Buckmaster (cello); Paul Minns (oboe); David Bedford (piano, keyboards); Mike Ratledge (keyboards); Rob Tait (drums).
Audio Mixers: Paschal Byrne; Mark Powell.
Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
Liner Note Authors: Mark Powell; Roger Dopson.
Recording information: 09/1969-02/1972.
Photographers: Gered Mankowitz; Laurie Asprey.
Arranger: David Bedford.
Ayers left the Soft Machine for a solo career when his basic pop leanings appeared at odds with the intense jazz/rock of his former colleagues. This album was a cult favourite at the end of the 60s for no reason other than that Ayers was well liked because he was ever so slightly mad. Take a look and listen at the content of this album: 'Song For Insane Times', 'Eleanor's Cake (Which Ate Her)' and 'Stop This Train (Again Doing It)'. Through the haze of quirkiness there is a strong light melodic feel to much of the music, and Ayers did possess a heartbreaker voice that prompted one woman to state, 'he is the sexiest man in the world'.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 724358277623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)