COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Turtles Turtle Soup

Get email alerts for The Turtles
MASSIVE CD SALE: $16.30 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $0.68 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  6E59K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 5, 2017
  • Originally Released: 1969
  • Label: Manifesto Records


  • 1.Come Over
  • 2.House on the Hill
  • 3.She Always Leaves Me Laughing
  • 4.How You Love Me
  • 5.Torn Between Temptations
  • 6.Love in the City
  • 7.Bachelor Mother
  • 8.John & Julie
  • 9.Hot Little Hands
  • 10.Somewhere Friday Night
  • 11.Dance This Dance With Me
  • 12.You Don't Have to Walk in the Rain
  • 13.Goodbye Surprise
  • 14.Like It or Not
  • 15.There You Sit Lonely
  • 16.Can I Go On
  • 17.You Want to Be a Woman
  • 18.If We Only Had the Time
  • 19.Dance This Dance
  • 20.Come Over
  • 21.How You Love Me
  • 22.Strange Girl
  • 23.Mamendy Mill
  • 24.Turtle Soup Radio Spot

Product Description:

Producers: Ray Davies.
Reissue Producer: Bob Irwin.
Personnel: Al Nichol (vocals, guitar, keyboards, 6-string bass); Mark Volman (vocals, guitar, percussion); Jim Pons (vocals, guitar); John Seiter (vocals, piano, drums); Howard Kaylan (vocals, organ, percussion).
Photographer: Henry Diltz.
TURTLE SOUP is rightly considered to be the band's finest album. With all the material self-penned, they were now calling their own shots, including their choice of Ray Davies as producer. This was Davies' first non-Kinks work and the band came up with songs that were right up the Englishman's alley. The sound bears more than a passing resemblance to The Kinks, with acoustic guitars, plucked basses, and simple but sturdy drumming (John Barbata had departed and this was John Seiter's debut with the band).
While TURTLE SOUP didn't yield hits as big as previous, it's a broader, richer recording. Their preceding album, PRESENT THE BATTLE OF THE BANDS, had hinted at their interest in tackling a fuller album statement, which TURTLE SOUP completely accomplished. Sadly, this was the final album The Turtles completed before disbanding (though WOODEN HEAD, compiled from unused tracks, was a fine posthumous release).

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 94,381
  • UPC: 767004804521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.09/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)