Blowing the Fuse: 28 R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox in 1948
by Various Artists

SUPER SAVINGS: $21 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $1.99 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
15 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  33RC9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 16, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Write Me A Letter - The Ravens
  • 2.King Size Papa - Julia Lee
  • 3.Call It Stormy Monday - T-Bone Walker
  • 4.Thirty-Five Thirty - Paul Williams Sextet
  • 5.Move Your Hand, Baby - Crown Prince Waterford
  • 6.I Love You, Yes I Do - Moose Jackson
  • 7.Fine Brown Frame - Nellie Lutcher
  • 8.Hey Mr. Gatemouth - Gatemouth Moore
  • 9.Tomorrow Night - Lonnie Johnson
  • 10.X-Temperaneous Boogie - Camille Howard
  • 11.Good Rockin' Tonight - Wynonie Harris
  • 12.You Sure Look Good To Me - The Big Three Trio
  • 13.Long Gone Part 2 - Sonny Thompson
  • 14.Cadillac Boogie - Jimmy Liggins
  • 15.Pretty Mama Blues - Ivory Joe Hunter
  • 16.Run Joe - Louis Jordan
  • 17.Elevator Baby - Mabel Scott
  • 18.We're Gonna Rock - Bill Moore
  • 19.My Heart Belongs To You - Arbee Stidham
  • 20.I Can't Be Satisfied - Muddy Waters
  • 21.Corn Bread - Hal Singer Sextette
  • 22.It's Too Soon To Know - The Orioles
  • 23.Hop, Skip And Jump - Roy Milton
  • 24.That's Your Last Boogie - Joe Swift
  • 25.Little Bird Told me, A - Paula Watson
  • 26.Long About Midnight - Roy Brown
  • 27.Daddy-O - Louis Jordan
  • 28.Chicken-Shack Boogie - Amos Milburn

Product Description:

Personnel: Paul "Hucklebuck" Williams (baritone saxophone).
Liner Note Authors: Colin Escott; Dave Booth.
Photographers: Colin Escott; Frank Driggs; Galen Gart; R.A. Andreas; Gilles P‚tard; Victor Pearlin.
Blowing the Fuse is a killer series of compilation CDs issued by Germany's premier archivist label, Bear Family. Subtitled "R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox," each volume is compiled by year. 1948 was a boom year for jukeboxes across the United States. This volume, like most of the others, contains 28 affirmed classics of the early postwar years though some of these titles have been obscured a bit by history. Assembled by Dave "Daddy Cool" Booth, the sequencing of these tracks has proved invaluable in this series. With the Ravens "Write Me a Letter" opening it all up, Julia Lee files in with "King Size Papa" and gets trailed by T-Bone Walker's monster "They Call It Stormy Monday," which is tailed by the Paul Williams's "Thirty-Five Thirty" and Crown Prince Waterford's risqu‚ "Move Your Hand, Baby." Is this six tracks of pure gold or what? But it gets better, with Bull Moose Jackson's "I Love You, Yes I Do," Nellie Lutcher's "Fine Brown Frame," and a host of others including Mabel Scott's "Elevator Baby," and Lonnie Johnson's awesome "Tomorrow Night." Other artists featured here are Paul Watson, Muddy Waters, Jimmy Liggins, Amos Milburn and Roy Brown, among many others. Colin Escott has written authoritative liner notes -- there is a small set for each cut -- and the package is full of killer photos and housed in a handsome digipack. Sound quality is consistently fine throughout. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,102
  • UPC: 4000127167033
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)