Dick Curless Hard, Hard Traveling Man (4-CD Box Set)

Hard, Hard Traveling Man (4-CD Box Set)
Get email alerts for Dick Curless
3 ratings
Sale: $112.49
WINTER SALE: $104.61 Limited Time Only
List Price: $124.99
You Save: $20.38 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  33R73
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: August 11, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Pinch O' Powder
  • 2.Big Wheel Cannonball
  • 3.I Miss a Lot of Trains
  • 4.Six Days on the Road
  • 5.A Tombstone Every Mile
  • 6.Carter Boys
  • 7.Hard, Hard Traveling Man
  • 8.Long Lonesome Highway
  • 9.Drop Some Silver in the Jukebox
  • 10.Truck Stop
  • 11.Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
  • 12.Winter's Comin' on Again
  • 13.Golden Girl
  • 14.Drag 'Em Off the Interstate, Sock It to 'Em
  • 15.Please Buy My Flowers
  • 16.Juke Box Man
  • 17.Leaving It All Behind
  • 18.Rocky Top
  • 19.Juke Box Man
  • 20.Watermelon Man
  • 21.The Lonesome Road
  • 22.Coastline Charlie
  • 23.Waiting For a Train
  • 24.Homing Pigeon
  • 25.Come Sundown
  • 26.Snap Your Fingers
  • 27.Swingin' Preacher

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Woman, Don't Try to Sing My Song
  • 2.I Gave up Getting Over You Today
  • 3.Loser's Cocktail
  • 4.Old Ramblin' Alabama Me
  • 5.Sweeter Than the Honey
  • 6.Hot Springs
  • 7.Bully of the Town
  • 8.Darby's Castle
  • 9.I'll Be a Hero
  • 10.Wait a Little Longer
  • 11.Stonin' Around
  • 12.Lay Your Hands on Me (And Heal Me)
  • 13.January, April and Me
  • 14.Travelin' Light
  • 15.You've Really Got a Hold on Me
  • 16.China Nights (Shina No Yoru)
  • 17.The Best Is Yet to Come
  • 18.Singing a Country Song, (Drinkin' Beer and)
  • 19.Chick Inspector (That's Where My Money Goes)
  • 20.She Called Me Baby
  • 21.For the Life of Me
  • 22.Old Bob Burton
  • 23.The Last Blues Song
  • 24.Born in Country Music
  • 25.Room Full of Roses
  • 26.Been There People
  • 27.Country Music Man
  • 28.Lazy Bones

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Swingin' Preacher
  • 2.Country Soul
  • 3.Get on Board My Wagon
  • 4.Intro
  • 5.Chick Inspector (That's Where My Money Goes)
  • 6.Intro
  • 7.Truck Stop
  • 8.Intro
  • 9.I've Come Awful Close
  • 10.Intro
  • 11.The Lonesome Road
  • 12.Intro
  • 13.15 Gears and 14 Wheels
  • 14.Drag 'Em Off the Interstate, Sock It to 'Em
  • 15.Big Wheel Cannonball
  • 16.Intro
  • 17.Sixty Minute Man
  • 18.Intro
  • 19.Evil Hearted Me
  • 20.Outskirts of Town, (I'm Gonna Move to) The
  • 21.Interruption
  • 22.Outskirts of Town, (I'm Gonna Move to) The
  • 23.Intro
  • 24.Singing a Country Song, (Drinkin' Beer and)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Cottage in the Pines
  • 2.Down by the Riverside
  • 3.Heart Talk
  • 4.My Side of the Night
  • 5.Then I'll Get Over You
  • 6.Cupid's Arrow
  • 7.When Dad Was Around
  • 8.Rocky Mountain Queen
  • 9.So Little and Lovely
  • 10.Memories, An Old Picture and a Ring
  • 11.His Mountain
  • 12.Nobody
  • 13.Steel Rails
  • 14.In the Middle of a Tear Drop
  • 15.Changin' Times
  • 16.Remember Me

Product Description:

HARD, HARD TRAVELING MAN contains tracks recorded for Capitol Records between 1970 and 1973. It also includes a disc of previously unreleased solo tracks recorded in Nashville in 1988.
This four-CD box set picks up where Bear Family's previous seven-disc collection, Tombstone Every Mile, left off. While the previous set covered Dick Curless' career from 1948 with the Trailblazers though his solo and big hit years in 1970. Hard, Hard Traveling Man begins with his label deal for Capitol in the '70s and continues through to them dropping him in 1973. While Curless didn't score as big during those years, he still nailed a pair of Top 40 spots and recorded very powerful trucker and honky tonk anthems; the Maine native wasn't a bad ballad singer, either. A rugged traditionalist, Curless' brand of country faded by the time of the Outlaw movement, though he would have fit directly into their ranks. The big surprise here is the final disc, a collection of previously unissued sides that were demoed on acoustic guitar for the label and left in the vaults along with many alternate takes and mixes. It's a very intimate look at one of the more overlooked (and criminally so) figures in the golden era of the genre. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127161710
  • Shipping Weight: 2.09/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)