Merle Haggard Same Train, Different Time

Rolling Stone: "...Although the 25-cut concept album was originally given short shrift within country's singles market, it remains a classic..."
Get email alerts for Merle Haggard
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.49 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  JJHA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 2, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/4/95, p.70
"...Although the 25-cut concept album was originally given short shrift within country's singles market, it remains a classic..."


  • 1.Jimmie the Kid
  • 2.My Rough and Rowdy Ways
  • 3.California Blues [Blue Yodel No. 4]
  • 4.Narration, No. 1
  • 5.Hobo's Meditation
  • 6.Waiting for a Train
  • 7.Mother, the Queen of My Heart
  • 8.My Carolina Sunshine Girl
  • 9.Narration, No. 2
  • 10.Train Whistle Blues
  • 11.Why Should I Be Lonely?
  • 12.Jimmie's Texas Blues
  • 13.Midnight Turning Day Blues (Blue Yodel No. 6)
  • 14.Narration, No. 3
  • 15.Mule Skinner Blues (Blue Yodel No. 8)
  • 16.Peach Picking Time in Georgia
  • 17.Down the Old Road to Home
  • 18.Travelin' Blues
  • 19.Miss the Mississippi and You
  • 20.Frankie and Johnny
  • 21.No Hard Times
  • 22.Narration, No. 4
  • 23.Hobo Bill's Last Ride
  • 24.My Old Pal
  • 25.Nobody Knows But Me
  • 26.Narration, No. 5
  • 27.Jimmie Rodgers' Last Blue Yodel (Women Make a Fool Out of Me)
  • 28.Mississippi Delta Blues
  • 29.Gambling Polka Dot Blues

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Merle Haggard (vocals, guitar); James Burton (acoustic & electric guitars, dobro); Roy Nichols (guitar, harmonica); Lewis Talley (guitar); Norman Hamlet (steel guitar, dobro); George French, Jr. (piano); Roy "Junior" Huskey, Jr., Bob Morris, Jerry Ward (bass); Roy "Eddie" Burris (drums); Bonnie Owens, William Robert "Billy" Mize (background vocals).
Recorded at Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, California between August 26, 1968 and February 26, 1969. Originally released as a 2 LP set on Capitol (SWBB-223). Includes original release liner notes by Hugh Cherry and new liner notes by Colin Escott.
Tributee: Bob Wills.
Scholars and fans acknowledge two early recording acts as the progenitors of modern country music: the Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers. The Carters established country's roots in old-time folk songs, sentimental ballads and rough, heartfelt harmony singing. Rodgers, the more influential of the two, merged African-American country blues with Anglo-Saxon melodicism and original, personal songwriting. Prior to the '60s, few artists lacked the influence of one or both of these acts. Rodgers was the avowed hero of Hank Williams, Ernest Tubb, George Jones, and Lefty Frizzell, to name just a few of his famous devotees. Frizzell, in fact, recorded the album of Rodgers songs that inspired Merle Haggard to record SAME TRAIN, DIFFERENT TIME.
Haggard has a natural affinity for Rodgers' songs of train-hopping, cop-dodging and heartbreak. He also sings bluesy runs with ease and conviction, and he can yodel, an ability often called for in Rodgers' songs. As a result, SAME TRAIN fits neatly into Haggard's body of largely original work, making the album a great introduction to the work of two of country music's masters. The Strangers--Haggard's great backing band featuring James Burton on dobro and guitar--add stellar support throughout.
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,050
  • UPC: 4000127157409
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)