COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Piano Red The Doctor Is In! [Box Set] (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Piano Red
MASSIVE CD SALE: $71 Limited Time Only
List Price: $124.99
You Save: $53.99 (43% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  AASS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 14, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Jumpin' the Boogie
  • 2.Rockin' With Red
  • 3.Let's Have a Good Time Tonight
  • 4.Red's Boogie
  • 5.Right String But the Wrong Yo Yo
  • 6.My Gal Jo
  • 7.Baby, What's Wrong
  • 8.Well, Well Baby
  • 9.Just Right Bounce
  • 10.Diggin' the Boogie
  • 11.Layin' the Boogie
  • 12.Bouncin' With Red
  • 13.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 14.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 15.Count the Days I'm Gone
  • 16.My Boogie
  • 17.The Sales Tax Boogie
  • 18.Voo Doopee Doo
  • 19.Daybreak
  • 20.She Walks Right In
  • 21.I'm Gonna Tell Everybody
  • 22.I'm Gonna Rock Some More
  • 23.She's Dynamite
  • 24.Everybody's Boogie
  • 25.Your Mouth's Got a Hole in It
  • 26.Right and Ready
  • 27.Taxi, Taxi, 6963
  • 28.Decatur Street Boogie
  • 29.Sober
  • 30.She Knocks Me Out
  • 31.Going Away Baby
  • 32.Chitlin' Hop

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Decatur Street Blues
  • 2.I Ain't Fattening Frogs For Snakes
  • 3.Big Rock Joe From Kokomo
  • 4.Pay It No Mind
  • 5.Jump Man Jump
  • 6.Do She Love Me
  • 7.She Knocks Me Out
  • 8.Peachtree Parade
  • 9.Red's Blues
  • 10.Six O'Clock Bounce
  • 11.Jumpin' With Daddy
  • 12.Gordy's Rock
  • 13.Real Good Thing
  • 14.Goodbye
  • 15.Please Tell Me Baby
  • 16.You Were Mine For Awhile
  • 17.Sweetest Little Something (Ol' Man River)
  • 18.Since I Fell For You
  • 19.Woo-Ee
  • 20.Rock, Baby
  • 21.Teach Me to Forget
  • 22.Wild Fire
  • 23.Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • 24.South
  • 25.Coo Cha
  • 26.Dixie Roll
  • 27.Boston Scored
  • 28.One Glimpse of Heaven
  • 29.Blues Blues
  • 30.Work With It
  • 31.Eighter From Decatur
  • 32.Please Come Back Home
  • 33.Comin' On

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Ain't Nobody's Fool
  • 2.The Right String But the Wrong Yo Yo
  • 3.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 4.Umph-Umph-Umph
  • 5.Got You on My Mind
  • 6.It's Time to Boogie
  • 7.That's My Desire
  • 8.Teen-Age Bounce
  • 9.Pay It No Mind
  • 10.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 11.I Ain't Fattening Frogs For Snakes
  • 12.Rockin' With Red
  • 13.Get up Mare
  • 14.1,2,3
  • 15.My Baby
  • 16.Rock and Roll Boogie
  • 17.Nighttime
  • 18.So Worried
  • 19.Blues, Blues
  • 20.Boogie Re-Bop
  • 21.This Old World
  • 22.I Feel Good
  • 23.Talk to Me
  • 24.Believe in Me
  • 25.Guitar Walk
  • 26.I've Been Rockin'
  • 27.Rockin' With Red
  • 28.So Shook Up

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Doctor Feel-Good
  • 2.Mister Moonlight
  • 3.The Swabble
  • 4.The Right String But the Wrong Yo Yo
  • 5.I'll Be Home One Day
  • 6.Sea Breeze
  • 7.I Ain't Gonna Be a Lowdown Dog No More
  • 8.Don't Let Me Catch You Wrong
  • 9.What's up Doc
  • 10.I'll Give Anything
  • 11.Love Is Amazing
  • 12.Bald-Headed Lena
  • 13.I Feel Good
  • 14.It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
  • 15.The Same Old Things Keep Happening
  • 16.Let's Have a Good Time Tonight
  • 17.My Gal Jo
  • 18.Blang Dong
  • 19.I Don't Mind
  • 20.I'm Gonna Rock Some More
  • 21.The Doctor's Boogie
  • 22.Let the House Rock On
  • 23.Doctor of Love
  • 24.It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
  • 25.Good Guys
  • 26.Goodbye (I Can't Forget)
  • 27.Don't Tell Me No Dirty
  • 28.Where Did You Go

Product Description:

This 4-CD box set contains the complete recordings of Piano Red from 1950 to 1965 as well as a 20-page book with pictures, session info and biography.
This four-CD set, containing 122 songs (23 of them previously unreleased) cut between 1950 and 1966 for RCA, Groove, Okeh, and Columbia is, literally, the best of Piano Red, and may be the best box in the entire Bear Family catalog. This is about as good as piano blues and R&B got, and also some of the best piano-based rock & roll you'll ever hear -- rivaling anything that Jerry Lee Lewis or Little Richard ever cut -- with barely a second-rate track. Even the multiple versions of his signature tune, "Right String but the Wrong Yo-Yo," are welcomed, from its lean, mean piano-bass-drums original 1950 version, to the live 1955 rendition and the broader 1961 remake (at the "Mr. Moonlight" session), because they're each different enough to justify their presence. And, yet, the most amazing thing about the 16 years covered on these four discs is the consistency of the music and performances -- Red hardly changed at all until the early '60s, always giving his audience a good show whether he was making records or playing live. The second and third discs are arguably the best parts of the set, with Red at the peak of his prowess as a pianist and singer. He made the jump into rock & roll more easily than most bluesmen of his age, with the result that his music from this period is as solid as anything else he ever did. Still later, on the fourth disc, once he moves into a more produced, pop-oriented R&B sound, he holds up almost as well. The sound is excellent, the notes are thorough, and the $100 list price of this 122-song set makes it proportionately more attractive than any $15/15-song best-of on Red that might ever show up (and there isn't one). ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,438
  • UPC: 4000127156853
  • Shipping Weight: 2.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)