Get email alerts for Howard Jones
8 ratings
SALE: 99¢
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $12.99 (93% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSM 109
Brand New

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Released: April 14, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Warner Bros Mod Afw


  • 1.Lift Me Up
  • 2.Fallin' Away
  • 3.Show Me
  • 4.The Voices Are Back
  • 5.Exodus
  • 6.Tears to Tell
  • 7.Two Souls
  • 8.Gun Turned on the World
  • 9.One Last Try
  • 10.City Song

Product Description:

Personnel: Howard Jones (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, drums); Midge Ure, David Lindley, Neil Taylor, Steve Farris, Dean Parkslead, Andy Ross, Robbie Mcintosh, Dean Parks (guitar); Kevin Robinson (trumpet); Jai Winding (keyboards, Moog bass); Ian Stanley (keyboards); Richie Hayward, Chris Hughes, Ross Cullum (drums); Mark Brzezicki, Sam Clayton, Luis Conte (percussion); Carol Kenyon, Tessa Niles (background vocals).
Recorded at The Shed, Maidenhead, England and A&M Studios, Hollywood, California between September 1990 and September 1991.
Personnel: Howard Jones (vocals, piano, keyboards, keyboard bass); Andy Ross (guitar, wah-wah guitar); Dean Parkslead, Neil Taylor, Midge Ure , Robbie McIntosh , Steve Farris (guitar); David Lindley (acoustic guitar, slide guitar); Dean Parks (electric guitar, wah-wah guitar); Kevin Robinson (trumpet); Ian Stanley, Jai Winding (keyboards); Mark Brzezicki (drums, percussion); Richie Hayward, Ross Cullum (drums); Luis Conte (percussion); Sam Clayton, Tessa Niles, Carol Kenyon (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Bob Clearmountain.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; The Shed, Maidenhead, England.
Photographer: Daniel Miller .
Unknown Contributor Roles: Kevin Maloney; Howard Jones; Midge Ure .
Arrangers: Clare Fischer; Andy Ross.
1992's IN THE RUNNING is something of a departure for Howard Jones, a more experimental album than previous commercial work like 1985's DREAM INTO ACTION and 1989's CROSS THAT LINE. Co-produced by Jones and drummer Ross Cullum of Tears For Fears, who also co-wrote four of the album's ten songs, the album is sonically akin to the multilayered arrangements of Tears For Fears' THE SEEDS OF LOVE, only with less ponderous lyrics and more satisfying melodies. The results are akin to '70s keyboard rock gems like Elton John's GOODBYE YELLOW BRICK ROAD or Todd Rundgren's poppier albums with Utopia. Stretching out the structures--nearly half the album's songs run over five minutes--without inserting pointless jams, Jones and Cullum, helped out by members of Big Country, the Pretenders and Ultravox plus guitarist extraordinaire David Lindley, have crafted a mature, impressive work.
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
99¢ CD Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 257
  • UPC: 075596113526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)