Sonny Stitt The Classic Albums Collection 1957-1963 (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Sonny Stitt
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  6DYJA
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: February 10, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Enlightenment Records UK

Description by

Featuring appearances from a wide range of other jazz greats, and demonstrating Stitt's extraordinary skill on both the alto and tenor saxophones, this compilation serve as both a perfect introduction to this master musician, and as a welcome reminder of why, some 35 years after his passing in 1982, he retains such respect and acclaim among the jazz cognoscenti.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Easy to Love
  • 2.Easy Living
  • 3.Autumn in New York
  • 4.You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • 5.For Some Friends
  • 6.I Never Knew
  • 7.Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  • 8.East of the Sun (West of the Moon)
  • 9.Original
  • 10.Avalon
  • 11.Blues Greasy
  • 12.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 13.The Eternal Triangle
  • 14.After Hours
  • 15.I Know That You Know

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Be-Bop
  • 2.We
  • 3.Dark Eyes
  • 4.Lover Come Back to Me
  • 5.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 6.Au Privave
  • 7.The Gypsy
  • 8.I'll Remember April
  • 9.Scrapple From the Apple
  • 10.Moten Swing
  • 11.Blues for Pres, Sweets, Ben & All the Other Funky Ones
  • 12.Easy Does It

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Angel Eyes
  • 2.It All Depends on You
  • 3.Stormy Thursday
  • 4.Embraceable You
  • 5.It Could Happen to You
  • 6.But Not for Me
  • 7.Memories of You
  • 8.I Cried for You
  • 9.Bright as Snow
  • 10.Spinning
  • 11.Blues Up and Down
  • 12.Counter Clockwise
  • 13.There Is No Greater Love
  • 14.The One Before This
  • 15.Autumn Leaves

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Long Ago, And Far Away
  • 2.Walkin'
  • 3.Why Was I Born?
  • 4.John Brown's Body
  • 5.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 6.Surfin'
  • 7.Lester Leaps In
  • 8.Estralita
  • 9.Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • 10.Touchy
  • 11.Never ----SH!
  • 12.My Mother's Eyes
  • 13.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You

Product Info

  • UPC: 823564689524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)