Get email alerts for Rage Against the Machine
160 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  SSP 79456
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 5, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/21/00, p.170
4 stars out of 5 - "...Not only do Rage understand the sweep of rock and rap history, but they have bold and unusual ways of tearing that history up....executing each song with the roaring, fearless spirit that's been missing in action since these songs were new."
Spin - 2/01, p.106
7 out of 10 - "...[These] songs air the frustration behind the band's united front....acknowledging the pissing-in-the-prevailing-wind nature of their critique..."
Q - 1/01, p.108
3 out of 5 stars - "...Steely energy and stifling seriousness....Those lying closest to their own unsubtle oeuvre, i.e. the Minor Threat and Cypress Hill tracks, are as crunching as die-hards could hope for..."
Melody Maker - 12/5/00, p.56
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...The electric crackle of real rage will still Frankenstein your spine and make you quiver with that strange combo of elation and self-disgust..."
NME (Magazine) - 11/25/00, p.33
8 stars out of 10 - "...At once brilliant archaeology; a final rewrite of the rage manifesto...revealing the foundation on which they stood: hip-hop and punk, anger and beats..."


  • 1.Microphone Fiend
  • 2.Pistol Grip Pump
  • 3.Kick Out the Jams
  • 4.Renegades of Funk
  • 5.Beautiful World
  • 6.I'm Housin'
  • 7.In My Eyes
  • 8.How I Could Just Kill a Man
  • 9.The Ghost of Tom Joad
  • 10.Down On the Street
  • 11.Street Fighting Man
  • 12.Maggie's Farm
  • 13.Kick Out the Jams - (live, hidden track)
  • 14.How I Could Just Kill a Man - (live, hidden track, featuring Sen Dog / B Real)

Product Description:

Rage Against The Machine: Zack De La Rocha (vocals); Tom Morello (guitar); Tim Commerford (bass); Brad Wilk (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Sen Dog, B-Real (rap vocals).
Producers: Rick Rubin, Rage Against The Machine, Brendan O'Brien.
Engineers: Jim Scott, David Schiffman, Nick DiDia.
Principally recorded at Cello Studios, Hollywood, California and The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, California.
"Renegades Of Funk" was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance.
Audio Mixer: Rich Costey.
Recording information: Cello Studios, Hollywood, CA; The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, CA.
Seemingly due to the hasty departure of vocalist Zach De La Rocha, what had originally been intended as a second disc complementing a live set finds its solo release in RENEGADES. Originally born in the lighthearted spirit of cover albums such as Metallica's GARAGE DAYS series, RENEGADES is an assembly of interpretations of protest songs that spans many musical styles.
From the funk treatment of the obscure "Pistol Grip Pump" (originally recorded by Volume 10), to the slowed-down, stomping groove of the MC5's "Kick Out the Jams," there is seemingly no song the band can't transform and make their own. Identifying closely with Rage Against The Machine's political ideals are Afrika Bambaataa's "Renegades of Funk," and the previously single-only cover of Bruce Springsteen's "The Ghost of Tom Joad." In what fans might optimistically interpret as a hint of what is to follow, two hidden live tracks round out RENEGADES' 60-plus minute assault.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,877
  • UPC: 888837945622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)