Charley Patton Complete Recordings 1929-1934 (5-CD)

Get email alerts for Charley Patton
21 ratings
Price: $27.10
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $1.89 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
item number:  XDQ7
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: August 26, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: JSP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Pony Blues
  • 2.A Spoonful Blues
  • 3.Down the Dirt Road Blues
  • 4.Prayer of Death, Pt. 1
  • 5.Prayer of Death, Pt. 2
  • 6.Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues
  • 7.Banty Rooster Blues
  • 8.Tom Rushen Blues
  • 9.It Won't Be Long
  • 10.Shake It and Break It (But Don't Let It Fall, Mama)
  • 11.Pea Vine Blues
  • 12.Mississippi Boll Weevil Blues
  • 13.Lord, I'm Discouraged
  • 14.I'm Goin' Home
  • 15.Snatch It and Grab It
  • 16.A Rag Blues
  • 17.How Come Mama Blues
  • 18.Voice Throwin' Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hammer Blues: Take 1 - (take 1)
  • 2.I Shall Not Be Moved
  • 3.High Water Everywhere, Pt. 1
  • 4.High Water Everywhere, Pt. 2
  • 5.I Shall Not Be Moved
  • 6.Rattlesnake Blues
  • 7.Going to Move to Alabama
  • 8.Hammer Blues: Take 2 - (take 2)
  • 9.Joe Kirby
  • 10.Frankie and Albert
  • 11.Magnolia Blues
  • 12.Devil Sent the Rain Blues
  • 13.Runnin' Wild Blues
  • 14.Some Happy Day
  • 15.Mean Black Moan
  • 16.Green River Blues
  • 17.That's My Man
  • 18.Honey Dripper Blues: No.2
  • 19.Eight Hour Woman
  • 20.Nickel's Worth of Liver Blues: No. 2

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Some of These Days I'll Be Gone
  • 2.Elder Green Blues: Take 2 - (take 2)
  • 3.Jim Lee: Pt. 1
  • 4.Jim Lee: Pt. 2
  • 5.Mean Black Cat Blues
  • 6.Jesus Is A-Dying (Bed Maker)
  • 7.Elder Green Blues: Take 2 - (take 2)
  • 8.When Your Way Gets Dark
  • 9.Some of These Days I'll Be Gone: Take 2 - (take 2)
  • 10.Heart Like Railroad Steel
  • 11.Circle Round the Moon
  • 12.You're Gonna Need Somebody When You Die
  • 13.Be True, Be True Blues
  • 14.Farrell Blues
  • 15.Tell Me Man Blues
  • 16.Come Back Corrina

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Some Summer Day
  • 2.Bird Nest Bound
  • 3.Future Blues
  • 4.M and O Blues
  • 5.Walkin' Blues
  • 6.My Black Mama, Pt. 1
  • 7.My Black Mama: Pt. 2
  • 8.Preachin' the Blues: Pt. 1
  • 9.Preachin' the Blues: Pt. 2
  • 10.Dry Spell Blues, Pt. 1
  • 11.Dry Spell Blues, Pt. 2
  • 12.All Night Long Blues - (Take 1)
  • 13.On the Wall
  • 14.All Night Long Blues - (Take 2)
  • 15.By the Moon and Stars
  • 16.Long Ways from Home

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Dry Well Blues
  • 2.Moon Going Down
  • 3.We All Gonna Face the Rising Sun
  • 4.Moaner Let's Go Down in the Valley
  • 5.Jesus Got His Arms Around Me
  • 6.God Won't Forsake His Own
  • 7.I'll Be Here
  • 8.Where Was Eve Sleeping?
  • 9.I Know My Time Ain't Long
  • 10.Watch and Pray
  • 11.High Sheriff Blues
  • 12.Stone Pony Blues
  • 13.Jersey Bull Blues
  • 14.Hang It on the Wall
  • 15.34 Blues
  • 16.Love My Stuff
  • 17.Poor Me
  • 18.Revenue Man Blues
  • 19.Troubled 'Bout My Mother
  • 20.Oh Death
  • 21.Yellow Bee
  • 22.Mind Reader Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Charley Patton (vocals, guitar, slide guitar); Walter Hawkins (vocals, guitar); Son House (vocals, slide guitar); Henry "Son" Sims (vocals, fiddle); Edith North Johnson, Louise Johnson (vocals, piano); Bertha Lee (vocals); Ivory Lou Allen (tenor saxophone).
Audio Remasterer: Charley Patton.
Liner Note Author: Ray Templeton.
Recording information: Grafton, WI (06/14/1929-02/01/1934); New York, NY (06/14/1929-02/01/1934); Richmond, IN (06/14/1929-02/01/1934).
At the end of just the first disc on this five-CD set, the listener may feel like he/she was in the audio equivalent of a visual "white-out," so powerful are the sounds on that disc. From the opening bars of"Pony Blues," Charley Patton becomes a gigantic musical presence, who gets even bigger as his work goes on; with a guttural, stentorian voice that paves the way for everyone from Louis Armstrong to early Bob Dylan -- but especially for Howlin' Wolf -- he cuts through the poor condition surviving Paramount pressings like a call from the Great Beyond, almost unnaturally powerful and expressive in its smallest gesture. What's more, Patton must have broken more than his share of strings, because his playing also comes through on these sides better than almost any artist that ever recorded for Paramount, even on ruined masters like "Pea Vine Blues." This is all a lot more than a trip through history for the scholar, and some sides are just too close to some classics of the future to ignore -- "Down In The Dirt Road Blues," which could be where Willie Dixon got the idea for "Down In The Bottom," and the notion that Howlin' Wolf was the man to record it; similarly, "Some Summer Day," from the other end of Patton's career, could easily have been the demo for "Sittin' On Top Of The World" -- actually, the geneology of both songs is a lot more complicated than that, but each of these could easily have been a key part of the evolutionary chain for one or the other. And there is a raw, primordial power to Patton's music that not only grabs the listener but leaves them wanting more; that's why this box makes perfect sense, even for the casual blues listener -- the man never recorded a second-rate side or one that didn't offer at least a few of the attributes that made his best work so powerful. On a cautionary note, however, the producers have actually been a bit misleading by presenting this set as 92 sides by Charley Patton -- there are actually 63 sides by Patton, and the rest, appended to each disc, are recordings by other artists and are believed to have featured Patton, playing and singing or just playing, and people who were featured on Patton's sides; the latter two groups include Son House, Louise Johnson, Henry "Son" Sims, and Willie Brown, with the Big Delta Four filling out the last disc. And these sides offer some fascinating sounds, including killer tracks by Son House in his prime, and oddities like Brown's "Future Blues," which lifts part of its content from Jimmie Rodgers' repertory. The audio is remarkably consistent and, in fact, the whole set is so rewarding, that it raises an interesting notion -- might JSP or another enterprising label consider doing a series of Paramount Records boxes, assembling the surviving sides, blues, gospel, or whatever, in chronological order, as Bear Family did with Sun Records a few years back? ~ Bruce Eder
JSP Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,887
  • UPC: 788065770228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.99/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)