Willie Nelson Heroes

Entertainment Weekly: "He pays tribute to Coldplay with a wrenching solo version of 'The Scientist' and honors country outlaw Billy Joe Shaver with the sad, lovely 'Hero.'"
Get email alerts for Willie Nelson
46 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $5.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.90 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  ES7C
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 15, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.73
"He pays tribute to Coldplay with a wrenching solo version of 'The Scientist' and honors country outlaw Billy Joe Shaver with the sad, lovely 'Hero.'"
Uncut - p.70
"HEROES may be elegiac, but it's as spirited as it is poignant."
Q (Magazine) - p.107
3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e has fun with Snoop Dogg and Kris Kristofferson...as well a putting a suitably poignant spin on Pearl Jam's 'Just Breathe' and Coldplay's 'The Scientist'..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.94
3 stars out of 5 -- "[F]or Texas's favourite ex-outlaw, this outing is just another day at the rance as he moves effortlessly from pop-country balladry to well-heated Western Swing."


  • 1.Horse Called Music, A - (featuring Lukas Nelson / Merle Haggard)
  • 2.Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die - (featuring Kris Kristofferson / Snoop Dogg / Jamey Johnson)
  • 3.That's All There Is to This Song
  • 4.No Place to Fly - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 5.Every Time He Drinks He Thinks of Her - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 6.Come On Up to the House - (featuring Lukas Nelson / Sheryl Crow)
  • 7.Hero - (featuring Billy Joe Shaver / Jamey Johnson)
  • 8.My Window Faces the South - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 9.Sound of Your Memory, The - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 10.Cold War with You - (featuring Lukas Nelson / Ray Price)
  • 11.Just Breathe - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 12.My Home in San Antone - (featuring Lukas Nelson)
  • 13.Come On Back Jesus - (featuring Lukas Nelson / Micah Nelson)
  • 14.The Scientist

Product Description:

Personnel: Bobby Terry (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Buddy Cannon (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Lukas Nelson (electric guitar); Mike Johnson (steel guitar); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Jim "Moose" Brown (piano, Hammond b-3 organ, Wurlitzer organ); Paul Shaffer (Hammond b-3 organ); Butch Carr (synthesizer); Steve Brewster, Tony Creasman (drums); Lance Miller, Kris Kristofferson, Melonie Cannon (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Butch Carr.
Recording information: Big Gassed Studios; Blackbird Studios, Nashville, TN; Brewbeat Studio, Nashville, TN; Cannon Productions; DSR, Hollywood, CA; Eastwood Studios; Henson Studios, Hollywood, CA; Hicksville Studio; Merle Haggard's Talley Studio, Palo Cedro, CA; Ocean Way Hollywood; Pedernales Recording Studios, Austin, TX; Sound Emporium Recording Studios, Nashville, TN; The Moose Lodge; Vibe 56 Recording Studio.
Photographers: David McClister; Frank Harkins.
Returning to the Columbia/Sony family after nearly two decades away, Willie Nelson once again tries to be everything to everybody on 2012's Heroes, an appealingly misshapen collection of classics, contemporaries, and originals. Heroes -- its title signifying no great concept -- is roughly divided into quarters, with part of the album devoted to the Western swing and Texas country he's always loved to sing, part consisting of new songs from Willie, part originals from his son Lukas, and part covers of newer, rock-oriented tunes from the likes of Tom Waits, Eddie Vedder, and Chris Martin. Each of these categories is a bit hit-or-miss, either succumbing to cutesy novelty (the dope-smoking anthem "Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die," complete with country cadences from a non-rapping Snoop Dogg) or laziness, and there's a wee bit too much Lukas Nelson scattered throughout the record, with the son of the father singing on no less than nine of the album's 14 songs. This can be too much of a strong spice, obscuring the overall flavor of the music, but Lukas contributes a couple of the record's best songs in "Every Time He Drinks He Thinks of Her" and "The Sound of Your Memory," songs that fit well next to a quite beautiful version of Vedder's "Just Breathe" and yet another strong, swinging rendition of "My Window Faces the South." And so Heroes kind of winds up summarizing all that's good and bad about Willie as he approaches his 80th birthday: he's open to everything but has no innate editor, so he whiffs as often as he connects, but when he does connect, it's a wonder to behold...and somehow he can still surprise whenever he sings those old songs. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,269
  • UPC: 886919604825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)