The Book of Knots Traineater

Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZDP 86853
Brand New

CD Details

  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: ANTI- Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.90
3 stars out of 5 -- "The accompanying soundscape is suitably post-industrial, littered with scraping metal and fractured, scratchy beats..."


  • 1.View From The Waterower
  • 2.Hands Of Production
  • 3.Traineater
  • 4.Pray
  • 5.Pedro To Cleveland
  • 6.Red Apple Boy
  • 7.Where'd Mom Go?
  • 8.The Ballad Of John Henry
  • 9.Midnight
  • 10.Boomtown
  • 11.Salina
  • 12.Third Generation Pink Slip
  • 13.Hewitt-Smithson
  • 14.Walker Percy Evans High School

Product Description:

Personnel: Carla Kihlstedt (vocals, whistling, charango, ukulele, violin, electric violin, harmonica, harmonium, loops, Theremin); Tom Waits (vocals, guitar, percussion); Joel Hamilton (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, ukulele, piano, synthesizer, glockenspiel, electric bass, drums, snare drum, programming, loops, sound effects); Matthias Bossi (vocals, oud, ukulele, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, harmonium, Wurlitzer organ, drums, finger cymbals, dumbek, loops, background vocals); David Thomas , Allen Willner, Jon Langford , Kathleen Brennan, Megan Reilly, Aaron Lazar, Carla Bozulich (vocals); Norman Westberg (electric guitar); Tony Maimone (baritone guitar, piano, double bass, electric bass, fretless bass); Zeena Parkins (electric harp); Trey Spruance (saz); Brian Wolf (tuba); John Davis (piano).
Audio Mixer: Joel Hamilton .
Photographer: Tom Sullens.
On TRAINEATER, the Book of Knots' sophomore effort and Anti-Records debut, the Brooklyn avant supergroup crafts a soundscape conceptually based on the decaying of the Rust Belt. Mining a sound somewhere between Tom Waits and Sonic Youth, the quartet layers metallic shards and plucked strings over bracing percussion clips and samples to create something akin to post-industrial Americana. Always interesting, and at times quite beautiful, TRAINEATER also includes cameos from indie stars such as Mike Watt and Jon Langford.
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,753
  • UPC: 045778685325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)