Frank Zappa Weasels Ripped My Flesh

Q: 5 Stars - Indispensable - " diverse and dynamic as any Mothers' album. Not a dull moment..."
Get email alerts for Frank Zappa
56 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $4 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 23843
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 31, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Zappa Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/1/70, p.42
"...This random collection...finds the group peerless in the field of amalgamating satire, musical adventuresomeness, and flash..."
Entertainment Weekly - 12/17/93, p.36
"...the original Mothers' last gasp, WEASELS contains some of Zappa's looniest work in a free jazz vein..."
Q - 8/95, pp.150-151
5 Stars - Indispensable - " diverse and dynamic as any Mothers' album. Not a dull moment..."
Highly Recommended


  • 1.Didja Get Any Onya? [Live]
  • 2.Directly From My Heart To You
  • 3.Prelude To the Afternoon of a Sexually Aroused Gas Mask
  • 4.Toads of the Short Forest
  • 5.Get a Little
  • 6.The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue
  • 7.Dwarf Nebula Processional March & Dwarf Nebula
  • 8.My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama
  • 9.Oh No
  • 10.The Orange County Lumber Truck
  • 11.Weasles Ripped My Flesh

Product Description:

Personnel: Frank Zappa (guitar); Don "Sugarcane" Harris (electric violin); Ian Underwood (alto saxophone); Bunk Gardner (tenor saxophone); Motorhead Sherwood (baritone saxophone); Buzz Gardner (trumpet, flugelhorn); Don Preston (piano, organ); Art Tripp, Jimmy Carl Black (drums).
Photographer: John Williams .
After getting over the colorful, disconcerting Neon Parks album cover illustration on WEASELS RIPPED MY FLESH, the listener is faced with following the whiplash-inducing, genre-jumping gymnastics inside. A mix of live tracks with studio cuts made with the original Mothers of Invention, WEASELS RIPPED MY FLESH is one of Frank Zappa's most eclectic, varied, and experimental early releases.
From the perplexing Germanic interlude of the opener, "Didja Get Any Onya?" to the complex xylophone changes of "The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue," Zappa combines avant garde music, jazz, R&B, novelty elements, and plenty of flippant rock attitude. Interestingly, there are some straight-up rock tracks too, such as the interpretation of Little Richard's "Directly From My Heart To You," and the guitar-led attack of "My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama," balancing highbrow conceptualism with unpretentious directness in Zappa's inimitable fashion.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,216
  • UPC: 824302384329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)