Mungo Jerry Best of the Polydor Years [Import]

Best of the Polydor Years [Import]
Get email alerts for Mungo Jerry
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $14.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.17 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  F48H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Glam / 7T's


  • 1.Hello Nadine
  • 2.Never Mind I've Still Got My Rock N Roll
  • 3.Impala Saga
  • 4.Quiet Man / Don't Let Go
  • 5.Can't Get Over Loving You
  • 6.It's a Secret
  • 7.All That a Woman Should Be
  • 8.Lovin' in the Alleys and Fightin' in the Streets
  • 9.Heavy Foot Stomp
  • 10.Gone to Malaya
  • 11.Just Can't Say Goodbye
  • 12.Sur Le Pont D'avingnon
  • 13.Feels Like I'm in Love
  • 14.Lana
  • 15.Sugar Mama
  • 16.Hello It's You Again
  • 17.Goodtime Goodtime
  • 18.Baby Ride My Train
  • 19.We're OK
  • 20.Rocking in the Road

Product Description:

Blues-influenced British popsters Mungo Jerry are featured on this collection of Polydor material. While the band's biggest hit, "In the Summertime," doesn't appear here, the inclusion of "Hello Nadine," "Quiet Man," and "Gone to Malaya" make up for it. Many of these tracks appear here on CD for the first time.
Liner Note Author: John Van Der Kiste.
Mungo Jerry's stay on Polydor Records, from 1975 through 1980, wasn't marked by a lot of chart hits, but they did make some great records, as this CD reminds listeners. Ray Dorset led an ever-changing lineup that included Tim Green and Dick Middleton on guitars, Chris Warnes, Larry Anderson, Eddie Quinn, and Doug Ferguson on bass, and Colin Earl at the piano. Whoever was on any specific record, the songwriting was solid and the execution was superb, whether on laid-back rocking numbers like "Hey Nadine"; roots rock-style pieces like "Never Mind I've Still Got My Rock & Roll"; or screaming, high-wattage blow-outs like "Impala Saga." This 21-song CD distills down the best of the group's work across three LPs, nine singles, and four EPs -- the best moments still recalled their early sound, either stylistically or lyrically, or, as in the case of "Don't Let Go," both -- it sounds like a very self-conscious reprise of "In the Summer Time." But they also employed a much harder and more mainstream sound on their debut single for the label, the nostalgic "I Can't Get Over Loving You," with its full electric sound, engaging lead and rhythm guitar hooks, and a wonderfully catchy chorus. It hit number four in Denmark and should have done well throughout the English-speaking world, as well, in a pop culture being swept by a craze for American Graffiti and Happy Days. At one point, as on "Sur le Pont d'Avignon," they sound an awful lot like the late-'60s Tremeloes, which isn't a surprise since, at various points, the latter group's Alan Blakeley was producing Mungo Jerry; they also step successfully into Elvis Presley territory with "Feels Like I'm in Love," an original written with the "King of Rock & Roll" in mind, just a little too late to get to him, which comes out pretty compelling in the band's own hands (and was later a huge European hit for Kelly Marie); and on "Sugar Mama" they plunge back into roots rock, come out somewhere midway between Creedence Clearwater Revival and Eggs Over Easy, layers of rippling lead and slide guitars clashing and slashing over a great beat. The sound is excellent throughout, and the annotation is reasonably thorough, including a history of each song. ~ Bruce Eder

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929041820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)