David Byrne Feelings

Rolling Stone: 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...FEELINGS is surprisingly coherent, considering its stylistic sprawl. And when it works, it's a marvel of musical collage..."
Get email alerts for David Byrne
26 ratings
Price: $15.70
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  KD93

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Warner Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 7/10-24/97, p.123
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...FEELINGS is surprisingly coherent, considering its stylistic sprawl. And when it works, it's a marvel of musical collage..."
Entertainment Weekly - 6/20/97, p.74
"...Like his last solo LP, Byrne's latest seems to come from everywhere and nowhere....We expect such ambition from this guy. Luckily, his latest also fizzles like pop." - Rating: B
Q - 6/97, pp.128-129
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...for all the variety, it's normal service--highly imaginative, skewed pop."
NME (Magazine) - 6/7/98, p.56
7 (out of 10) - "FEELINGS could be the closest Byrne has swung to the mainstream for a while but, typically, his idea of pop involves punk rock songs, country-influenced ditties, drone rock, a smart helping of techno..."


  • 1.Fuzzy Freaky
  • 2.Miss America
  • 3.A Soft Seduction
  • 4.Dance on Vaseline
  • 5.The Gates of Paradise
  • 6.Amnesia
  • 7.You Don't Know Me
  • 8.Daddy Go Down
  • 9.Finite=Alright
  • 10.Wicked Little Doll
  • 11.Burnt by the Sun
  • 12.The Civil Wars
  • 13.[Untitled Track]
  • 14.They Are in Love

Product Description:

Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitar, dobro, autoharp, harmonium, guitar synthesizer); David Byrne (keyboards, synthesizer, loops); Ross Godfrey (guitar, lap steel guitar, sitar, keyboards, synthesizer); Russ Meltzer (guitar); Clare Conners, Clare Connors, Alexander Balanescu, Ashley Horne (violin); Ashley MacIsaac (fiddle); Paul Martin (viola); Akua Dixon, Nicky Holland, Nicholas Holland (cello); Steve Bentley-Klein (strings, trumpet); Kyle Hanson (accordion); Scott Granlund (C-melody saxophone); It Jerez, Tony Concepcion, Ite Jerez (trumpet); Don Crevie (French horn); Camilo Valencia (horns); Paquito Hechavarria (piano); William South (Clavinet); Peter Scherer (organ, Farfisa, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Hahn Rowe , Lester Mendez (keyboards); Jerry Casale (bass instrument, background vocals); Greg Cohen (acoustic bass, acoustic bass guitar); Matthew Sperry (double bass); Joe Cooper, Joe Galdo (drums, percussion); Joseph Zajonc, Sterling Campbell (drums); Ed Pias (bongos, shaker); Vinicius Cantu ria (percussion); C-N-A (programming); Paul Godfrey (sampler, scratches); Gerald V. Casale, Skye Edwards (background vocals); Carlos Baptiste (violin); Pierre La Roux (fiddle); Juliet Haffner (viola); Ed Calle (saxophone); Dana Teboe (trombone); Mark Saunders (keyboards); Mark Mothersbaugh (synthesizer, sampler); Paula Cole, Betty Wright (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Joe Galdo; Mark Saunders; Marc Ramaer; Bob Power.
Recording information: Apt.1 402 W. 22nd St.NYC, NY; Avast Studio, Seat Pleasant; Cheeba Central, London, England; Hear No Evil, London, England; Mutato Muzika, LA, CA; Room With A View, New York, NY; Sony Studios; Sony Studios, New York, NY; South Beach Studios, Miami, FL; Svauga Svauga Studios, Brooklyn, NY; Svuga Svuga Studios, Brooklyn, NY.
Photographer: Tom Schierlitz.
Unknown Contributor Role: Peter Scherer .
Arranger: Jon Dryden.
David Byrne's years of sponging up various musical styles and his sharp, eccentric, occasionally bleak sense of humor make for an outrageously eclectic album, with several producers, and collaborators as diverse as Mark Mothersbaugh and Jerry Casale of Devo (lending their uniquely mechanical, robotic sound to "Wicked Little Doll"), trip-hoppers Morcheeba, and pop siren Paula Cole.
FEELINGS is a splendid patchwork of an album. "Gates of Paradise" takes a country & western song and mixes in a huge helping of trip hop, a dash of jungle music, and a pinch of punk. "Daddy Go Down" has a curious blend of Indian sitar, Cajun fiddles, and hip-hop scratching. The trippy, lighthearted sound offsets cynical lyrics and an intriguingly dark underbelly.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,534
  • UPC: 093624660521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)