Sandy Denny The Lady: The Essential Sandy Denny

Get email alerts for Sandy Denny
Price: $9.60
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.39 (20% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Format:  CD
item number:  6KWQG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 9, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Spectrum Audio Uk


  • 1.Who Knows Where the Time Goes [John Peel BBC Session, 11/09/73]
  • 2.I'm a Dreamer
  • 3.At the End of the Day
  • 4.Sweet Rosemary
  • 5.Blackwaterside
  • 6.Late November
  • 7.No End
  • 8.All Our Days
  • 9.Next Time Around
  • 10.Quiet Joys of Brotherhood
  • 11.Buches and Briars
  • 12.John the Gun
  • 13.I Wish I Was a Fool for You
  • 14.The Lady
  • 15.Solo [John Peel BBC Session, 11/09/73]

Product Description:

The late Sandy Denny was by consensus the greatest vocalist to emerge from the British folk-rock scene, a singer blessed with an instrument that was gentle but never fragile, clear and subtle but capable of tremendous emotional range. While Denny did much of her best work with the group Fairport Convention, and also cut fine records with the Strawbs and Fotheringay, she recorded a handful of memorable albums on her own, and The Lady: The Essential Sandy Denny collects 15 songs from her solo output. The Lady gets off to a somewhat shaky start, with a BBC radio recording of her signature tune "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" that's fine but inferior to the definitive version she recorded with the Strawbs, and then "I'm a Dreamer," a lovely song that unfortunately also demonstrates how the overblown production of Denny's final album, 1977's Rendezvous, ran counter to what best served her music. But as a compact overview of Denny's solo work, The Lady serves its purpose quite well. Her four post-Fairport solo albums are all represented here, as well as two tracks recorded for John Peel's BBC radio show in 1973 (including a glorious version of "Solo"), and the songs run the gamut from the austere traditional folk of "Quiet Joys of Brotherhood" to the grand-scale pop of "All Our Days," with the bittersweet beauty of Denny's voice on glorious display throughout. Those interested in a thorough study of Denny's music would be better served with the excellent multi-disc sets No More Sad Refrains: The Anthology or Who Knows Where the Time Goes, but if you desire a more compact introduction to her work, The Lady boasts a handful of brilliant performances that confirm why so many rate her work so highly.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 125,695
  • UPC: 600753447802
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)